Borscht I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
There were a couple of flaws in the recipe. It doesn't specify whether to peel the beet or not (which I think should have been done). I also added all of the green pepper in the first step because I didn't want raw green pepper in the soup. In the end the soup turned out really yummy. This was the first time my bf and I have ever tried borcht and we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
I also add cooked red or white beans. In the end I add one spoon sweet cream to each serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
Oh My Goodness! I never knew borscht could be so tastey. And the mashed potatoes are an interesting twist. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
This is soooooo good. I was looking for a great borscht recipe. Found it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
After all the rave reviews, I was a little disappointed. I had never eaten borscht before, and perhaps I should try a more traditional beet-broth borscht before I make my final decision. I didn't like the tartness and the heaviness. And I followed the recipe exactly except for adding a few cloves of garlic in the onion-tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alliance, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
This is a very good and hearty soup. My favorite borscht is the one my Grandma used to make. However, her bortsch recipe used a LOT of butter (not margarine) and a LOT of cream. There was one unusual ingredient in my Grandma's borscht, beet tops. I added about 1/2 cup of chopped beet tops to this recipe at the same time as the first amount of cabbage. It was very good. I also diced the beets when cooked and added them back to the stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williams Lake, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
What a great recipe! There is only one beet in the recipe, so if you have never tried borscht before, don't be overly concerned that the beet flavor will overpower the other ingredients! My daughter insisted on brining some to school the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
Very good recipe. My family loved it. I only adapted it slightly. I used a jar of homemade pickled beets, rinsed very well, and added some chopped, cooked bacon(my husband doesn't do meatless!)Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
This was my first taste of borscht and I loved it. It was work but very good and even better freezing lunch portions. Told the kids it was vampire soup and they ate their veggies! At first I forgot the dill and it was great then too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2002
It was great easy to make. I kept the beet in the soup and cut it up. The kids loved it. Will make again for sure . Tk's for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States