Borscht I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 6, 2005
I made this for a dinner party. I got mixed reviews. I love Borsht and I only thought it was okay. Too much cabbage in it. Reminded me more of cabbage soup instead of Borscht.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
I too kept the beets and diced them and put them back in. I also added two cloves of garlic and I sauteed ground lamb in ghee and garam marsala (indian spices) along with the onions and cabbage. Forgot the heavy cream so I used a can of evaporated milk which worked just great. It turned out marvelously. I garnished with sour cream and fresh dill. No longer vegetarian but a phenomenal lamb borscht. I used ghee (clarified butter) instead of regular butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
did a couple adjustments. I'm on weight watchers so I used 1% milk instead of heavy cream and cut up the beets and kept them in. Very very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
There are many many different variations of borscht. This is very similar to what a Russian friend used to make for me. Definitely put a dollap of sour cream and some more dill when serving to make a great recipe even better!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
I've made this recipe several times. It's very good. I too chopped up the beet and put it back into the soup. I completely omit the cream and butter in the mashed potatoes. I just mashed them and put them back in the soup. I also use a 1/4 cup of fresh dill and it's very nice. I will try adding garlic next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
It was ok, I've had better with meat, but as far as a meatless it was good. I shredded half of the beet and returned it to the pot and put all the cabbage it the skillet to soften,I'm glad I did this because the texture would have been too rough for me. This is a very thick soup, almost a stew. If I make this again I will substitute some of water with chicken broth. Also, at serving I added a dollop of sour cream in my bowl, it really smoothed out the flavour, I strongly suggest adding sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
PS--for serving, top off with sour cream, sprinkle the sour cream with dill and garnish with parsley for a stunning display.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
Yummy soup! Thank you DeeDee for this delicious recipe. I know I will make it often in the future. I forgot the dill but it still tasted great. Next time will grate the beet in the soup as others suggested so I won't have to throw it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
The taste is WONDERFUL, although it's quite a different borscht than any other I've had! This is really thick, like a stew. But, like I said, the taste is awesome. I forgot the celery and only added the green pepper at the beginning, none at the end. A little time consuming, but easy. Worth the effort. I'll definitely be making this again - and next time, I'm going to double it so I can have some leftover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
Wow . . . This soup was delicious. My roommates and I are college students and we may be amateurs when it comes to cooking, but we know good food when we have it, and this is GOOD FOOD! This recipe was easy to follow and it was so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States