Borscht I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
This is the best borscht i have ever tasted! very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coquitlamom3
Home Town: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Good. I used three beat and kept them in the soup. May have been better without all the beets (like the recipe says) It was very yummy topped with sour cream and extra dill YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
OK, this recipe was totally yummy, but what a pain in the butt! I just finished my 2nd bowl and I loved it, but it ended up taking 2 hours to make it, a whole mess of dishes, and I'm the only one eating it! Oh well, it still tastes delicious. :) Along with the other reviewers, I changed a couple of things: 1. Tossed in beet greens and 3 beets to stockpot 2. Reserved 1 T butter from 1/3 c for mashed potatoes and used 2% milk instead of heavy cream for potatoes. 3. Deglazed saute pan with water and added it to stockpot to thin soup out. Like I said, it was delicious, but very labor intensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
very good, but a lot of work required (in the cutting of all the vegies).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahoffort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
As a Russian immigrant I have tasted many Borscht recipes and I love this one. Especially a vegetarian soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
This recipe turned out really well but during the cooking, I was doubtful. Not sure how the cabbage was to be cooked in 5 minutes or did I misunderstand something. I simmered mine for a whole lot longer. I cooked the vegetables in beef broth, added 4 beets and used 1 tbsp. of butter total. Next time I will double the recipe. Six cups of water as the liquid does not serve a large group. Still an excellent recipe and I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
This is very delicious and very hearty. My young sister and boyfriend both love it! I think it's perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
I've never had borscht before, so I don't know how authentic this recipe is. I just made this to use up some beets--which, frankly, I don't even like much. This recipe, though, is INCREDIBLY DELICIOUS (and really, the most remarkable shade of purple/magenta when you use red cabbage...can't beat that)! I even used extra beets (2 large & 3 small), then chopped them up and left them in, as people recommended (I figured it was too much work to puree or shred the beets)...and I psychotically love this soup. I think I could eat it every day. The dollop of sour cream was a great touch, too. I just had the last bowl...sniff...I think I need to get more beets and make this again. I'll try with much less butter next time, though...that was kind of an alarming amount for a vegetable soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
This recipe was a good starting point, but I had to make several major adjustments to achieve something that was suitably "borscht-like" for my tastes. I used two beets rather than one (and next time, I'd use three) and I did not discard them after boiling. I chopped one beet into small dice and pureed the other. I added both right before service. Without the addition of the puree, the soup would have been bright orange rather than the deep ruby color I expect from borscht. Other changes I made: Added a tablespoon of dried dill toward the end of cooking, omitted about half of the butter and all of the celery (is "half a stalk" reallly going to add any flavor or texture?), didn't reserve the 1/2 c of tomato sauce (this step seemed unnecessary since everything gets mixed together anyway), and I used only about half of the cabbage called for and still found it to be a very cabbage-y soup (3 cups would have been serious overkill). Be sure to taste the soup before serving. I found that it needed quite a bit more salt and pepper than called for. Garnished with sour cream, of course. I will make borscht again, but not according to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
according to my grandmother, dill is the key!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metuchen, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States