Borscht I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I am half russian and half native american and after studying the Russian culture I wanted to try the food. This recipe was the first one I tried and MMMM!! was i missing out! This is a regular routine in my kitchen and is my absolute favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KyleeOrdonez
Home Town: Snowflake, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
This soup is sooo good!! The mixture of ingredients creates an amazing taste! I used the same ingredients only in different amounts (4 carrots, 2 beets, 1 pint grape tomatoes, a whole celery stalk, a whole small onion, a whole red pepper, and 2 teaspoons of dill) and I left out the salt and cream. The recipe doesn't need it. I also took an extremeshsort cut by cutting up and food-processing all the veggies except for the onion, which I did saute in the butter. I also used an extra cup of water. I placed all the ingredients in boiling water, lowered the heat and covered the pot, and simmered it for about an hour. It was one of the best soups I have ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
A great starter soup for learning to make borscht. I made it for the first time tonight and my guests really rave about it, includig a guest who intially only took a bite to be polite. I will make it again, but will definately play with modifictions. I used four small beets and did't get the color or flavor I wanted...I will definately increase that. I diced the beets this time, but will puree next time. The veggie to liquid ratio was too high for my taste. A little more water and a little less vegetables next tme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I'll rate it after I've eaten it. BUT..this is the most disjointed recipe I've ever seen and I've used lots of recipes and done plenty of quite complicated cooking. Next time please make it easier to follow. This is not meant as a criticism because it looks as if it is going to be delicious, but don't want to put others off as I am.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
This is an incredibly good Borscht, but watch out for the strangely written recipe. A few alterations I'd recommend: Cut the amount of cabbage in half, use two or three beets, and don't discard the beets after boiling; instead, dice them and add them back to the stock for a heartier stew. I've made this five times and only had a bad result once, when I tried to double the recipe using the same ratios. I couldn't tell you why, but the end result was orange and tasted slightly off. The default measurements always yeild a good result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
A little confusing but got through it and eliminated a few steps! A great soup!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I found this recipe confusing and at times odd (why wouldn't you keep beets in Borscht soup?) - but a good guide after reading the other reviewers comments. First,I used three beets in the stock pot and peeled them first. For the next step, I reduced the butter to a couple of tablespoons, used fresh tomatoes, and substituted shredded brussell sprouts. I removed one beet, and pureed the rest using a handheld blender. I never added the cream or the second round of butter. Then I diced the beet I had removed and added it back to the stock pot along with the onion/tom/brussel sprout mix. I then added a ton of fresh dill and let it simmer. Before serving I added fresh dill on top along with sour cream. Fresh dill makes all the difference. This was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
this was my first time making borscht i thought it was excellent, id recommend using more beets and instead of discarding just dice them and put them back in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johnny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, New York, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I needed a new variation of my traditional barszcz recipe for Christmas Wigilia -- Polish Christmas Eve. This recipe is wonderful for the occasion: hearty but meatless. A few tweaks to please my personal palate, more beet and dill flavors, and this recipe is a keeper. Smacznego!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sinajana, Sinajana, Guam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
The recipe was great, but the directions were a bit odd, not very clear. I used two beets and after they softened, I diced one, pureed the other and added it to the soup as another person suggested. I also chopped and threw the leafy ends of the beets in with the soup for added nutrition. I used way more dill than called for because I love dill. This is the first time I've made this and I am very impressed with the great flavor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jrenee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States