Bookbinder's Fabulous Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Venice Florida Mom
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
For the last several years, this has been one of my two go-to cheesecake recipes, and it's always a hit with adults and kids. I typically bake a half batch of the recipe to make 24 mini-cheesecakes to limit how much we eat! (Cut baking time down to about 15-20 minutes.) Definitely use fresh lemon juice as it and the lemon zest are key to getting the great flavor. I do also make a more traditional graham cracker crust which is thicker than suggested for the crust in this recipe. I recommend cutting the strawberries into pretty small pieces to make the cake easier to eat, especially on the mini-cheesecakes. One other reviewer wrote about having the topping not set - it has to cool enough. Here in Florida that means it ends up in the fridge. Bake and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I made just the cheesecake part and half the recipe was enough for my 9-inch pan. The texture was nice and rich and the flavor was lemony perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
The cheesecake itself is awesome! The topping, not so much. I followed the recipe exactly, but the apricot topping never set up, so when I took it to my sister's for Easter, I got glaze everywhere! Even a slight tip of the cake plate sent the glaze running, which made a mess in my car and on my clothes. Next time, I'll bake the cheesecake as directed, but top it with a little fresh fruit compote right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cecefltrn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This recipe was a hit. It was light and had a wonderful flavor I made a strawberry glaze with fresh strawberries and used more graham crackers to cover the bottom of the cake. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elmont, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I used 1 tsp. bottled lemon juice and tasted no lemon flavor at all. Either you absolutely must use fresh, or you must use more than 1 tsp., or it needs a boost with some lemon extract. Otherwise, the cheesecake was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocky Hill Gal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I did something wrong. The consistency was not right. I followed the recipe to a "T". That is the reason for my 4 stars. I enjoyed the lemon in the cheesecake. I will be doing that more often. I feel that the apricot was too much. Cut back on the amount. Strawberries and blueberries a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Scheibe Boyd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Twin Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Easy and impressive! I actually cut the recipe down to three servings, and used a muffin pan for individual servings (which made six muffin cup sizes. I used a little more graham crackers for more of a crust. The cooking time was much shorter. Took them out just as the tops started to crack. I also made a little extra apricot topping and dripped it over the edges. They were very refreshing and pleasing in appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheriewatson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
I brought this to work and had a lot of good responses. I ended up using about 1.5 Tbls of lemon juice (about 1/2 a lemon) and enough blueberries to cover the top of the cake instead of the strawberries. I thought the changes worked out great, I might just use 1 Tbls of lemon juice next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
Impressed the in-laws and was a hit at a birthday party! I squeezed the lemon juice out of a lemon and a half to give it a little more flavor- It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATRICK123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
Too much cream cheese make cake too big for pan. Rising troubles. Use less cheese cream for happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

PHILADELPHIA 'Fruit Smoothie' Cheesecake

See how to make a scrumptious, berry-filled, no-bake cheesecake.

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States