Bones of the Dead Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
My Sicilian Sister-in-law used to make these shaped in 'bone' shapes or fingers.....making them look like 'bones of the dead'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
A little bland, but better with icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Homemaking101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I followed the recipe to the letter and unfortunately we didn't care for these at all. They were very easy to make, but, a lot of wait time for the end result. I like the taste of cloves and thought the flavor profile of cloves and almond would be good together. The clove taste seemed overwhelming for our palate and left a lingering aftertaste. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly but these just did not work out for me. I expected these to be light and melt on the tongue but they were the total opposite. They were so heavy, and the taste not something that I found appealing at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
The first time I made these I used Large eggs and my dough was very sticky and I had to add extra flour and sugar. The second time I used Medium eggs and the batter was much better. For those who have had trouble with sticky batter try using smaller eggs. I dust my cookies with powdered sugar when finished. They are great with coffee! I also want to note that there are several different versions of this cookie. Each version developed in different parts of Italy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silverwing05

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartford, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Made this recipe with Spelt flour instead of all-purpose flour. Using spelt flour means increasing the amount used. I used 3 1/2 Cups. Overall, I loved how it turned out, however, wife felt it was a little dry and hard for her taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eaton Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sadie
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Okay, I thought my crazy gramma made up deadbones until I found this recipe! These are fantastic! I tripled the almond extract and added a tbsp of mexican vanilla to really vamp up the flavour, then dusted the finished cookies with powdered sugar and served them with a raspberry sauce for dipping. They were a real hit, everyone loved the morbid name. The only problem was the dough was really sticky, but I just coated the baking sheet and my hands with flour and it worked fine. I probably ended up kneading in an extra 1/2 cup flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
After replacing the almond extract with 1 tsp of vanilla and a pinch of cinnamon, your Bones of the Dead are the closest things I've come to my Nonno's Ossi dei Morti, good job & thanks! [Random: I think it's funny how I was looking up Christmas Cookie Recipes and found this (for it being a cookie normally made in the Harvest/Halloween time of year)].
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
i made them twice, and they are not sticky...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kawika Hanaike

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
I had the same problem with the dough turning into a gooey mess. I ended up adding more flour and powdered sugar to help get to a consistency I could work with. Then end result lived up to the name - hard as a bone! The taste left a lot to be desired. The ground cloves in the dough was too much even after all the extra flour. I definitely won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RABBITTZOSO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Azusa, California, USA
Living In: North Port, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Meringue Bones and Ghosts

See how to make Halloween ghosts and graveyard bones out of meringue.

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States