Boneless Pork Loin Roast with Herbed Pepper Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
Quite good, word of warning however. There is a fine line between cracking peppercorn and grounding. Be careful, you don't want to leave the peppercorn so big that guests are cracking their teeth on it. But also you don't want to over-ground it to the point that the pepper becomes over-whelming, which with 3 tbs. of black pepper in this recipe its quite easy to accomplish (I upped servings to 12). Id recommend giving this recipe a dry-run before anything major. It has potential to be a very good home-made version of your "average" supermarket pork loin that comes with a pepper-herb coating, but mind your pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CullinAiry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Amazing! I halved the pepper like othes suggested. I placed it on a bed of onions and cooked for around and hour and 10 min for my 1.6 lb pork loin. I sprinkled the extra spices on the onions. I cut it about 3/4 of the way thru cooking to let some of the juices out. The carmelized onions were amazing and the pork had great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie
Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
My family thought it was excellent. But we do like pepper a lot. I also put quartered potatoes and onions along side the pork to serve as a side dish which worked out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I dislike rosemary, so I didn't add it. And after reading some recipes here I cut back on the pepper. I still didn't really care for it. I think it was the Parmesan that turned me off. It made a funky, crispy crust that seemed to conflict with the flavour of the pork. I liked the general idea of the spice mix. Just not the Parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama_B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Delicious! Roast stays tender and the drippings can be used sparingly for a bit more flavor (the drippings are strong in flavor). I served with rosted red potatoes and greeen beans - yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
My husband loves anything peppered. Me, not so much. But with the blend of pepper and herbs this was amazing! Prepared it just as posted, but something was off with the timing. It took WAY longer than the stated amount of time. Could be something to do with the fact that I had a semi-boneless? Or is the 150 degree internal temp. correct? We'll figure it out, though, because we loved it! We will probaby add more garlic next time, too, because we love garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Columbia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
The other reviewers aren't kidding when they say it's a lot of pepper! I cut the amount in 1/2 and it was still a little much. I also had to roast it for longer than the time called for, but that could have been an elevation issue...I will make this again, with an adjustment to the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
My Family LOVED this!! I am VERY sensitive to any kind of spicy food so I thought it was a little too spicy. But is was very moist and Yummy!! Definitely something I WILL MAKE AGAIN!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sams girl
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Well if you like pepper this is your recipe. It was tender and moist but I would cut the pepper in half. Just too strong for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I made this for a family gathering and got compliments all night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bound Brook, New Jersey, USA
Living In: La Vergne, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Maple-Brined Roasted Pork Loin

Make a simple brine and delicious maple glaze for roasted pork.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States