Bone-In Ham Cooked in Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Too bad there are not ten stars here. This recipe certainly deserves it! I baked my first ham today for a family gathering. After combing this site for recipes, I chose this one. And am I ever glad I did! My friends whom I consulted on baking my ham kept telling me to use coke instead of beer. I'm glad I didn't listen! This was one of the most delicious hams I have ever tasted. My husband, who does not really care for ham, couldn't keep from eating it while he was slicing it. He said it was "awesome"! You absolutely can't beat how simple this recipe is. Tender, moist and juicy. I can't wait to do this again! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
This moist and tender ham could not be easier! I used a large, turkey-size oven bag, two bottles of Yuengling, and almost a full can of pineapple slices. Everyone remarked that they'd never eaten such a moist ham. After slicing it, I combined about 1/2 C each of honey, butter, and orange juice and added about 1 tsp. cinnamon, brought to a boil, and poured over the sliced ham. I reheated gently, and it did ont dry out at all. Delicious! I will use this method again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim*designer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
I made this w/ a spiral ham, and it was DELICIOUS! I've never had such a tender, juicy ham. I used Alaskan Smoked Porter, which was a perfect compliment. I also used a glaze (I wasn't completely convinced that just the beer & pineapple give enough flavor) of 1 cup honey, 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup of pineapple juice, and 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves. I brushed on the mixture every 15-20 minutes, and removed the cover at the end to carmelize the glaze. The drippings even made a delicious gravy! Everyone loved it... from now on, I will always cook my ham in beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
This was EXCELLENT...I halved the recipe and inserted cloves into the ham before baking. I cooked it at 300 for about 4 hours....it was so tender and was literally falling apart...I used a 9.5 lb ham...HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
I normally don't really care for ham, but this was awesome! I used a 7.27 lb. brown sugar cured bone-in ham. Dumped 1 can of beer on it put on an 8 oz. can of pineapple rings and dumped that juice on it too. I baked it for about 2 1/2 hours (I turned to oven up to 350 for the last 1/2 hour). I basted it about 5 times while cooking and let it rest for about 15 minutes before carving. This is by far the best ham I ever made and have probably ever tasted! I was so moist and tender. I can't wait to make it again! Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
I cooked this ham for twelve people for a christmas/engagement dinner. I had never had such a reaction to one of my meals...RAVE REVIEWS! I made a ten lb. ham with three cans of micro beer and added potatoes, celery, and onions to cook (and serve on the side) in the beer/ pineapple juice. I am going to make this recipe every time i make a ham! MUST TRY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Great taste and very moist. I made a half ham and embellished as follows: Used 1 can chunk pineapple instead of slices. Put about 1/3 of can juice plus 6-7 chunks in the basting liquid. Heated the ham to internal temp of 140°F (Removed from oven at about 130°) Broiled the rest of the chunks to brown them slightly. Made a sauce of: - Rest of pinapple juice - 1/4 c brown sugar - 1/8 c honey - 1/4 t cloves, 1/8 t allspice, 1/8 t nutmeg - Thickened with arrowroot to keep it clear When this was thick I added the broiled pinapple and the chunks from the baste. (I did not use any of the baste liquid). This was a great ham sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I used a pre-cooked ham and 1 can of pineapple juice and 1 can of beer. Cover it and cook approx. 1 hr. My diabetic father-in-law loved it. It seems to remove the salty taste and the ham is SO moist. Everyone loved it. I then take the pineapple slices and saute them in butter and brown sugar and use them to decorate the platter. This has become a huge hit in our family- even with those who previously didn't like ham! This is now our favourite recipe for company and they rave about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I made this for Thanksgiving, and it was one of the best hams I ever had! The only thing I did differently was baste it a few times with the leftover pineapple juice. So simple, and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STORMY3600

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Booneville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
Excellent!! I was a little reluctant to put pineapples, and being the doe-doe that I am, I bought crushed pinapple instead of sliced, but I'm glad I did, they worked out just as well because I basted every so often. I used Sam Adams Summer Ale (yum) put it on the grill and it came out great. Family loved it, thanks Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

How to Cook Ham

See how to prepare a juicy glazed ham.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States