Bone-In Ham Cooked in Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I liked this cooking method. It seemed very moist and tasty. The beer flavor was not noticeable (I used what I had - Hefeweizen). I would recommend not eating the pineapple though. Beer soaked pineapple = not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
It was okay but I still could taste the beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mona Mcdaniel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Angola, Indiana, USA
Living In: Manton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
The ham was so soft no knives were required. There wasn't a distinct beer flavour...in fact I surprised my family when I told them it was cooked in beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Made this recipe twice without the pineapples, because I don't like them on my ham. The ham was very tender and tasty. This recipe is easy and a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Great taste and very moist. I made a half ham and embellished as follows: Used 1 can chunk pineapple instead of slices. Put about 1/3 of can juice plus 6-7 chunks in the basting liquid. Heated the ham to internal temp of 140°F (Removed from oven at about 130°) Broiled the rest of the chunks to brown them slightly. Made a sauce of: - Rest of pinapple juice - 1/4 c brown sugar - 1/8 c honey - 1/4 t cloves, 1/8 t allspice, 1/8 t nutmeg - Thickened with arrowroot to keep it clear When this was thick I added the broiled pinapple and the chunks from the baste. (I did not use any of the baste liquid). This was a great ham sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I tried this recipe on Christmas, and should have tested it first. The flavor was good, but it was jerky ham, it was so dry and tough. I had 10lb ham, and judging by other posters, I needed to bake it 4 hours. 2 hours into it, it was done and already dry. I basted it several times too. I might try it again, only maybe try a brown n bag instead, I have good luck with turkeys using a brown n bags.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollister, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Too bad there are not ten stars here. This recipe certainly deserves it! I baked my first ham today for a family gathering. After combing this site for recipes, I chose this one. And am I ever glad I did! My friends whom I consulted on baking my ham kept telling me to use coke instead of beer. I'm glad I didn't listen! This was one of the most delicious hams I have ever tasted. My husband, who does not really care for ham, couldn't keep from eating it while he was slicing it. He said it was "awesome"! You absolutely can't beat how simple this recipe is. Tender, moist and juicy. I can't wait to do this again! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
Baking my ham with this recipe for the 2nd time. Extremely easy, with great reviews!! We like the old fashioned bone-in hams (approx 25-28 lbs). We love the taste of ham without the sugary glazes. Thanks for the posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katswirlz
Home Town: Southgate, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I made this for Thanksgiving, and it was one of the best hams I ever had! The only thing I did differently was baste it a few times with the leftover pineapple juice. So simple, and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STORMY3600

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Booneville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Haved used this recipe many times to smoke a ham & it always turns out great! In fact we've got one in the smoker right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Ann, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Chef John's Honey-Glazed Ham

See how to make Chef John's honey-glazed ham for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States