Bone-In Ham Cooked in Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
OK, all I could find at the store was an already cooked 4lb boneless ham. I used a quarter of a bottle of beer and a few pinapple slices w/ the juices poured on. I baked the ham, covered, for about 50 minutes @ 325. I uncovered the ham, sprinkled some brown sugar on top and basted the heck out of it. I turned up the heat to 400 and baked for about 20 more minutes, basting a couple more times. The end result was moist and delicious! I can only imagine how this would be if I had actually done it correctly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEADGIRRRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This was a very good and moist ham. I did use an oven bag so I didn't have to scrub my pan to death. Everyone who ate it was very surprised that I cooked it with beer and it tasted so great. I did use a pumpkin beer since I thought the spices would go with it and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I'm not sure if it was just an ok ham or I cooked it too long. Ok recipe, but will try a different one next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen N

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I had 30 people coming for Ham dinner following Confirmation worship. I didn't know how long the service would be and feared dry meat. I searched the web and found this recipe. FABULOUS! Everyone went back for more. The ham was moist and flavorful. It's a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Awesome recipe!! My family loved it and the kids actually asked for more and more. Thank you for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
My mom's secret to the best turkey and gravy ever was a can of beer. So I thought I'd give this a try, and it was pretty darn good. I used Black Butte Porter, and skipped the pineapple because my daughter is allergic. The kids asked for seconds with lots of pan drippings on top... Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wayland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I do cook with beer, but never thought of cooking ham with it. Well, this was the best Christmas ham I ever made! (I did omit the pineapple) I like the ease of a spiral ham, but it can get dry if your not careful. The beer made it incredibly moist. My family raved about how good it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Great and easy. My guests from Virgina said it was one of the best hams they've every had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xgymnast

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilroy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Used this for my first ever ham and it turned out to be wonderfully succulent. I did, like another reviewer, make a honey glaze that I added during the last 45 minutes of cooking. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
I really liked this recipe and make it every year at Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Chef John's Honey-Glazed Ham

See how to make Chef John's honey-glazed ham for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States