Bone-In Ham Cooked in Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
I had originally given this recipe only 4 stars when I used it last year, but had to go ahead and boost it up to 5 stars after having made some changes. First of all, I only had an 8.5 lb ham, and it was spiral cut and smoked. I put the ham AND its juices into a roasting pan. I used a pint of Guiness and poured that over the ham along with a can of chunk pineapples. I stuck some of the chunks into the ham with toothpicks, covered tightly with foil, and baked at 375 for 2 hours basting every 20 minutes. After 2 hours, I lightly brushed on a packaged glaze, and put the ham back intothe oven uncovered for another 20 minutes. I let the ham rest for about 10 minutes before slicing, and it was juicy juicy juicy and delicious!! The guiness gave a nice, rich taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bella V.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I can't believe how good this was. I was looking for something different other than the traditional brown sugar type ham. I used a small bone-in smoked ham but made it in the crockpot (I am always looking for new ways to use it). I used an apricot beer I had but also used apple cider from another recipe on this site. I put the ham cut side down in the crockpot after trimming off the fat, poured in one beer (only had one beer, but had a gallon of cider), then filled almost to the top with apple cider. I then poured a large can of crushed pineapple over the portion sticking out patting the pineapple on to stick and letting the rest, along with the juice, to fall into the liquid. I cooked on high for the first hour then changed to low for about 6 hours. The ham was very tender and the combination of apricot, apple and pineapple flavoring was so good that I'm glad I didn't add any other seasoning. My company loved it and even the kids came back for seconds. I will definitely be making this again. I've told all my friends about this and they now want to make it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oostburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
This is a difficult recipe for me to rate, as the ham I used was a smoked ham from a boar my husband harvested hunting. The meat from this pig is much drier then the pork you get at the store. This is the first pig he's harvested so I am new at preparing this type meat.) I tried to compensate for this by covering the ham with a glaze I use for all my hams (honey, brown sugar, ground cloves and pineapple juice). The glaze completely covered the ham. I roasted it in a covered roaster just as the recipe said using the beer. I was not sure on the weight of the ham (pkg not marked), so I had to guess on the roasting time. I did use a meat thermometer for internal meat temp. The meat was very dry and chewy. I do not believe it was because the recipe failed, (it provided great flavor)I believe it was because of the cut of meat, so I am giving it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Amazing! The ham is so, so tender and delicious! This will certainly be a staple for me now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Easy to prepare and toss in the oven for a crowd. I was then able to focus on other dishes and visiting. Turns out moist and doesn't taste like beer. I did make sure to baste, which I would recommend so it doesn't dry out. My ham was already fully cooked when I picked it up from the butcher, so I also lowered the temperature to around 250 degrees rather than 350 and cooked for only about 4hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I too am not a huge fan of super-sweet glazed hams: This recipe makes the most moist, juicy ham I've been able to turn out in my kitchen! I just used High Life (Milwaukee girl here), the two cans as specified with a can of pineapple on a 12 pound ham, and will not change one thing. I did cook at 250 for 9 hours to fit my schedule, basting a couple times and browning the skin at 350 for half an hour at the end, and thought that worked just fine too. Thank you SO MUCH for sharing, my boyfriend was in heaven :) ADDED 12/23/09 NOTE: I've made this several times now, always amazing but this time put in a slow cooker: even with just 1 can of beer we found this method of cooking imparted a much stronger beer flavor throughout the meat. I will actually only make this awesome recipe in the oven as stated, and use a different recipe when I need to slow cook the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Excellent. I added ground cloves, pepper and mustard. I also added about two cups of brown sugar and two drops od liquid smoke. Put it in the crockpot for 10 hrs - Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
OK, all I could find at the store was an already cooked 4lb boneless ham. I used a quarter of a bottle of beer and a few pinapple slices w/ the juices poured on. I baked the ham, covered, for about 50 minutes @ 325. I uncovered the ham, sprinkled some brown sugar on top and basted the heck out of it. I turned up the heat to 400 and baked for about 20 more minutes, basting a couple more times. The end result was moist and delicious! I can only imagine how this would be if I had actually done it correctly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEADGIRRRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This was a very good and moist ham. I did use an oven bag so I didn't have to scrub my pan to death. Everyone who ate it was very surprised that I cooked it with beer and it tasted so great. I did use a pumpkin beer since I thought the spices would go with it and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I'm not sure if it was just an ok ham or I cooked it too long. Ok recipe, but will try a different one next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen N

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Chef John's Honey-Glazed Ham

See how to make Chef John's honey-glazed ham for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States