Bone-In Ham Cooked in Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Used a smoked porter and it was wonderful! Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I used a Stout beer, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Rave reviews from everyone! All (and I mean ALL) said it was the best ham they had ever eaten... I served 15.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tenderbelle61
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Very tender and good, but not as flavorful as I had expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tenderbelle61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sylacauga, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
It tasted great. Surprising that it didnt have much beer taste at all. Love it. I also added a touch of honey, orange juice and some spices like cinnamon and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I had a precooked spiral cut ham and tried this. I used a rack underneath the ham and poured 2 cans beer in the pan. Put aluminum foil over all and crimped the aluminum foil to the edges of the pan. I only cooked it for 4 hours and the ham was dry and overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This recipe was so easy and turned out great! I made a few alterations and it turned out great. I used only a 10 lb ham and cooked it for only 4 hours. I used a honey based beer and also some cherry juice to baste the ham. Then we used the leftovers to make a delicious and not too salty gravy to go with the meal! It was an amazing dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I tried this recipe and it was the best ham I ever made! It turned out very tender. I will continue using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
I had originally given this recipe only 4 stars when I used it last year, but had to go ahead and boost it up to 5 stars after having made some changes. First of all, I only had an 8.5 lb ham, and it was spiral cut and smoked. I put the ham AND its juices into a roasting pan. I used a pint of Guiness and poured that over the ham along with a can of chunk pineapples. I stuck some of the chunks into the ham with toothpicks, covered tightly with foil, and baked at 375 for 2 hours basting every 20 minutes. After 2 hours, I lightly brushed on a packaged glaze, and put the ham back intothe oven uncovered for another 20 minutes. I let the ham rest for about 10 minutes before slicing, and it was juicy juicy juicy and delicious!! The guiness gave a nice, rich taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bella V.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I can't believe how good this was. I was looking for something different other than the traditional brown sugar type ham. I used a small bone-in smoked ham but made it in the crockpot (I am always looking for new ways to use it). I used an apricot beer I had but also used apple cider from another recipe on this site. I put the ham cut side down in the crockpot after trimming off the fat, poured in one beer (only had one beer, but had a gallon of cider), then filled almost to the top with apple cider. I then poured a large can of crushed pineapple over the portion sticking out patting the pineapple on to stick and letting the rest, along with the juice, to fall into the liquid. I cooked on high for the first hour then changed to low for about 6 hours. The ham was very tender and the combination of apricot, apple and pineapple flavoring was so good that I'm glad I didn't add any other seasoning. My company loved it and even the kids came back for seconds. I will definitely be making this again. I've told all my friends about this and they now want to make it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oostburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

How to Cook Ham

See how to prepare a juicy glazed ham.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States