Bone-In Ham Cooked in Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Absolutely wonderful! My husband isn't a big fan of ham and he insisted that I make this at least once a month. The ham was so tender and flavourful. The leftovers were fantastic and tender too, even after reheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I made this for Christmas and it was outstanding and will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksville, Texas, USA
Living In: Forney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I used this recipe for Christmas and it was a big hit. I did not have sliced pineapple,all I had was crushed so I made slits in the ham and put some of the crushed with juice in the cuts. It was great. Thanks,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Very good ham!! The house smelled a bit like there was bread baking due to the beer - this is a good thing! I baked a 9 lb ham in 1.5 bottles of Leinenkugel Honey Weiss in a roasting bag for 3 hours and it was perfect. My husband shuddered when I mentioned making ham since he's not a fan of the glazed hams I've made in the past and he LOVED this. I will be making ham more often now that I have this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
everyone said it was the best ham they'd ever had. I've never seen a ham so juicy, when you went to cut it, juice ran out of it. Crazy good! Also, it didn't taste like beer. I used one can crushed pineapple and one bottle imperial pale ale for a 10 lb 1/2 precooked Meijer ham. Baked 4 hours, first 1 hr at 325, then two at 250 and one at 325 to finish heating it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Loved this. I am NOT a ham fan, but since the rest of the family is, I made an 11-lb ham in my roaster using a can of beer (I think it was Coors Light) and a can of chunk pineapple. Ours was ready in about 3 hours and was so tender it was pointless trying to cut it into "nice" pieces. :) I didn't notice a beer flavor at all, and I'm not a huge fan of beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Turned out great! I'll certainly use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I used a pre-cooked ham and 1 can of pineapple juice and 1 can of beer. Cover it and cook approx. 1 hr. My diabetic father-in-law loved it. It seems to remove the salty taste and the ham is SO moist. Everyone loved it. I then take the pineapple slices and saute them in butter and brown sugar and use them to decorate the platter. This has become a huge hit in our family- even with those who previously didn't like ham! This is now our favourite recipe for company and they rave about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Granted, I probably should not have used an already cooked ham, but the taste of the beer plus the pineapple was not to my liking. I would rather just have a regular ham boiled in water or a brown sugar baked ham. I thought something different would be good but just smelling the pineapple and beer together made me queasy. Sorry, it's not for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by statikradio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Rockledge, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I didn't have a 10lb ham so here's what you should do instead: -1 can of beer, not 2. You'll have too much juice from the ham and beer -DON'T add in the pineapple juice and rings if you want to be able to make gravy, it will be too sweet -If you want to cook this over night set the oven at 250 degrees for 7 hours -After that, if you want a glaze, take out the juice for the gravy, brush on a glaze of your choice, turn oven higher to 350 and cook for 10-15 minutes. You'll have an AWESOME ham. Great recipe. -Also DO NOT use aluminum foil to cover your ham. The salt in the ham will corrode the aluminum while it cooks, though you can still eat it safely, it's just a pain to deal with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Chef John's Honey-Glazed Ham

See how to make Chef John's honey-glazed ham for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States