Bone-In Ham Cooked in Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I used this recipe for Christmas and it was a big hit. I did not have sliced pineapple,all I had was crushed so I made slits in the ham and put some of the crushed with juice in the cuts. It was great. Thanks,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Very good ham!! The house smelled a bit like there was bread baking due to the beer - this is a good thing! I baked a 9 lb ham in 1.5 bottles of Leinenkugel Honey Weiss in a roasting bag for 3 hours and it was perfect. My husband shuddered when I mentioned making ham since he's not a fan of the glazed hams I've made in the past and he LOVED this. I will be making ham more often now that I have this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
everyone said it was the best ham they'd ever had. I've never seen a ham so juicy, when you went to cut it, juice ran out of it. Crazy good! Also, it didn't taste like beer. I used one can crushed pineapple and one bottle imperial pale ale for a 10 lb 1/2 precooked Meijer ham. Baked 4 hours, first 1 hr at 325, then two at 250 and one at 325 to finish heating it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Loved this. I am NOT a ham fan, but since the rest of the family is, I made an 11-lb ham in my roaster using a can of beer (I think it was Coors Light) and a can of chunk pineapple. Ours was ready in about 3 hours and was so tender it was pointless trying to cut it into "nice" pieces. :) I didn't notice a beer flavor at all, and I'm not a huge fan of beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Turned out great! I'll certainly use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I used a pre-cooked ham and 1 can of pineapple juice and 1 can of beer. Cover it and cook approx. 1 hr. My diabetic father-in-law loved it. It seems to remove the salty taste and the ham is SO moist. Everyone loved it. I then take the pineapple slices and saute them in butter and brown sugar and use them to decorate the platter. This has become a huge hit in our family- even with those who previously didn't like ham! This is now our favourite recipe for company and they rave about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Granted, I probably should not have used an already cooked ham, but the taste of the beer plus the pineapple was not to my liking. I would rather just have a regular ham boiled in water or a brown sugar baked ham. I thought something different would be good but just smelling the pineapple and beer together made me queasy. Sorry, it's not for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by statikradio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Rockledge, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I didn't have a 10lb ham so here's what you should do instead: -1 can of beer, not 2. You'll have too much juice from the ham and beer -DON'T add in the pineapple juice and rings if you want to be able to make gravy, it will be too sweet -If you want to cook this over night set the oven at 250 degrees for 7 hours -After that, if you want a glaze, take out the juice for the gravy, brush on a glaze of your choice, turn oven higher to 350 and cook for 10-15 minutes. You'll have an AWESOME ham. Great recipe. -Also DO NOT use aluminum foil to cover your ham. The salt in the ham will corrode the aluminum while it cooks, though you can still eat it safely, it's just a pain to deal with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
easy and quick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Okay, I had a 7.5 lb spiral cut, bone-in half ham, (harwood smoked, fully cooked). I utilized fresh pineapple (was on sale). Due to weight difference from recipe; used 1 bottle of Honey wheat beer. Toothpicked on pineapple rings, poured beer (and juice from cutting pineapple) over all. Covered w/HD foil (roaster lid wouldn't fit) and baked at 300 for 3 hours. I lightly sprinkled some of the packet of brn sugar glaze on top (that came w/ham) after 2nd hour but I won't do that again (pineapple adds enough sweetness). I like a little sweet but not overbearing. When I had to turn oven up to 350 for rolls, I uncovered ham, removed pineapple (and 4 cups of excess liquid!), basted ham and baked additional 15 minutes to carmelize a bit. Once out of oven - I let ham sit for 15 minutes (loosely covered) while rolls baked off. Sliced enough ham (for dinner of 4) and it was EXCELLENT. Didn't taste or smell like beer, was moist/tender & not salty at all. I may have gotten all the excess liquid due to type of Ham or baking tightly covered? Thankfully it didn't negatively effect end results but next time I'll loosely cover, baste every 30 mins & bake 15 min per lb @325. I think the addition of beer kept ham very moist. If you end up with dry ham, most likely it got overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

How to Cook Ham

See how to prepare a juicy glazed ham.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States