Bone-In Ham Cooked in Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
WONDERFUL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I didn't make this necessarily as per the recipe, but as a base although my creation came out superb! I used a 6lb. (3kg-ish) boneless toupee-style ham (otherwise known as a spiral ham I believe; it's smoked) so I only needed to cook this at most for 3.5 hours. I lined a roasting pan (with lid) with aluminum foil (I seriously rec'd a disposable pan though). I lay this cut-side down (non-rind side). I made a paste with my homemade bbq/meat seasoning, Dijon mustard and pure grade b (medium) maple syrup. I poured a can of Dr. Pepper and a can of some sort of honey beer over it. Covered (though not completely as the the ham was a little too high to 'seal' the roaster) and let it cook at 325F for 3 hours. As some of the heat/liquid escaped, this allowed the 'sauce' to thicken. Last half hour removed the lid then when done let it rest, while brushing it with the remaining concentrated liquid. Removed netting/plastic-y thingy then cut to serve. This is delicious, not too sweet or too savoury- the right balance of the two. This will be our ham recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
EXCELLENT!!! This is the best Ham that I have ever made, (and better that most I have tasted). It was so tasty & so tender. Will be making again. Loved freezing and having it days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I tried the beer glazed ham, but with a 12.6 lb bone-in ham. I made the glaze by reducing 2 bottles of homemade porter with a little brown sugar and a little honey, plus about 3 T. plum butter (plum preserves). I just simmered the glaze while the ham baked (aerobake) at 320 degrees F. (since I wanted to boil off the alcohol so I could use the remaining glaze as a sauce). I added some water to the pan (kept ham above the pan, on a rack) and glazed every half hour, baking the ham for about 3 hours (internal probe read 155 degrees F). The glaze blackened nicely, and the ham was juicy and tender. Lovely. I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdevola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Easy, no raves from tom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This is my go to recipe for ham. I made my first ham 2 years ago and everyone loved it! I also used a turkey bag to keep it moist throughout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Amazing!! our new recipe for bone in ham!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Used a 7.5 lb ham with 8 oz can pineapple and 1 bottle beer. Cooked at 325 for 2 hours 15 minutes came out perfect. Nice and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Dye Carson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
This recipe was exactly what I was looking for. I had never cooked a ham before so this was my first try. I was really intimidated by such a big peice of meat! I am not a huge fan of glazed hams so I was looking for something more subtle. My ham was big, probably 12 pounds, it took about 7 hours to reach the desired temp. I just plopped it in my large cast iron skillet & made a foil tent. Because my ham was bone in with *LOTS* of fat, my ham turned out super juicy and tender! No beer taste whatsoever. I made it for sandwiches for a fishing trip for the weekend but as soon as it came out of the oven we kept picking at it. I served my hot ham & swiss sandwiches on good french bread with Southern Potato Salad from AR. Perfect! I will use this recipe again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
We're trying to cut down on our sugar so this was a great find! I had an 8 lb pre-cooked spiral sliced ham. I followed the recipe using 1 bottle of lager beer. It cooked for 2 hours, covered with foil. The whole family loved it and had seconds and thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Chef John's Honey-Glazed Ham

See how to make Chef John's honey-glazed ham for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States