Bone-In Ham Cooked in Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I was going to do a crock pot version of this but it wouldn't fit in (10 lbs bone-in). So I used a stock pot and modified it with whole green beans (frozen) and thick sliced potatoes. I glazed the top of the ham with Hoisen Sauce (about 3 teaspoons) I wanted it to be flavorful and I know potatoes sometimes absorb flavor. Sealed it with aluminum foil, put the lid on that bad boy and voile! (is that the right word?)I had my veggies, starch and meat in one pot. Tender, flavorful, and leftovers will be amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Very good as written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Clark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Consuelo Almeida Christianson
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I used pale ale and also basted with a glaze. Best ham ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This is a good recipe, we made it tonight. My ham was only 10.5lbs. so my cooking time was less. I roasted at 275 for 4hrs. Basting with the pan liquid every hour. Hot, juicy and tender! It was delicious and loved by all. Like other users I used the pineapple juice from the can as well as 11oz of beer. The only hint of beer flavor you'd get was from the cut side pieces. We used a ginger-honey-wheat hefewiezen and it paired well. Would definitely recommend as we'll be making it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
@jhp - Definitely not fair to evaluate this recipe for a spiral cut. That's not what this was intended to cook. I find that spiral cut ham is practically designed to be dry - a very different method is required. This was simple, delicious, and well-timed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This was great! I used a 13.25 half shank bone-in ham. I used a roasting bag as well. I embellished by rubbing honey mustard on the outside of the ham. I used a 20 ounce can of pineapple rings, one bottle of Newcastle Brown Ale, diced up 5 red potatoes and 2 onions, placed all of it in the roasting bag and baked at 325 degrees for 3 hours! Literally fell off the bone. Delish!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Travis Jamie Lopez Whitaker
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
This was great I used an internal meat themometer and it was juicy the next 4 days. Loved it and no beer taste. Whole family and inlaws loved it! I did use a 11 lbs ham and one can of beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
cooked for dinner. only had a 10lb ham. Used the 2 cans of beer I think 1 would have been fine. Everyone liked it, was moist and tender. Will cook again. I only cooked the ham for about 1 1/2 hours as the ham said maybe could have gone a few minutes longer. but still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Buford, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
It was a decent ham, but I'm more looking forward to using the leftovers for salads and sandwiches because it was a little bland as a main course. It definitely needs a mustard sauce or something with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Followed recipe as written and will NEVER cook ham any other way ever again. So easy, so tasty I was sceptical at first but this is by far the easiest and best way to cook a ham I have ever used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnmarie29

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Chef John's Honey-Glazed Ham

See how to make Chef John's honey-glazed ham for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States