Bonbons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Have been making these for several years. Be sure to refrigerate overnight, otherwise too soft and won't dip well. Also, roll into SMALL balls as these are very sweet. One last thing, I also add a little bit of paraffin wax to the chocolate. Helps it to be a little thinner when dipping and gives the Bon Bons a nice shiny coating. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Very sweet. Messy to drip in chocolate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Fabulous recipe - I gave it four stars because you DEFINITELY need two bags of chocolate chips, as one really isn't enough. I mixed the margarine, condensed milk, vanilla and confectioners sugar together, then split the mixture into two bowls. To one I added finely chopped dates, maple extract and rum. To the other I added orange zest, orange extract and crushed vanilla wafers. I laid pairs of pecans, set side by side, on wax-paper covered cookie sheets, and set the balls of chilled filling on top of the nuts. The orange ones were covered (drizzle with a spoon, don't dip) in white chocolate, the rum maple with dark chocolate. Everyone said they tasted like fancy store truffles! Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
So delicious. I ran out of chocolate as well, so instead of using another bag of semisweet chips, I used 12 oz. of white almond bark melted with the 2 Tbsp. shortening. White bonbons are delicious as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
so delicious! just like my mother's tasted... maybe a little better...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
It was too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
These are nummy!! I also used 3/4 cup sugar. I used ground pecans and two boxes of Bakers semisweet squares. I had no problems with the dough, as I left it in the fridge overnight. I would next time roll them into "marble sized" balls. I think this would make it easier to dip. Don't have the whole batch out of the freezer when dipping. They melt fast and don't stay on the toothpick. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
The bonbons were good. My friends liked them alot, although I find them too sweet. I only used less than 3/4 cups of confectioners' sugar, if not, it would have been way too sweet. I added a little more walnuts too, since I like a nuttier flavor. And I would suggest melting at least 400-500g of chocolate. I did not prepare enough and had to rummage my cupboards for leftover pieces of couverture. Ended up having an assortment of bonbons, which wasn't bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
the bon bons turned out great. I put the mixture in the fridge overnight. the balls rolled out perfect. I put tooth picks in them before they went into the freezer. I loved the receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
These would have been PERFECT...if the filling was a bit more firm. I have made them several times and they end up being patties instead of balls because the filling just isn't as firm as I would like. They are also kind of hard to keep together when dipping in chocolate as well. However, once they are finished, the taste is sensational and everyone raves over them! They are truly a rich delight for coconut lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Peanut Butter-Pretzel Bonbons

See how to make delectable bonbons.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States