Bon Bon Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I really liked these. But, of course, I like almost all cream cheese cookies. I didn't use shortening, I used butter. It seemed to make them a little richer. I also chilled my dough before making them into cookies. The end product was lovely. I had to freeze the survivors in small batches, so I didn't gorge myself. TIP: You don't have to sift your powdered sugar here. I measured out what was needed and just ran my big wisk through the sugar. Works like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
These are so yummy. Make sure you roll these is plenty of powdered sugar. I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
These were absolutely fantastic! I did make one change. I had regular shortening and didn't want to spend money on the butter flavored since shortening is so expensive now. So I did half unsalted butter and half vegetable shortening and they turned out great! Not recommended for someone with diabetes...there is a lot of powdered sugar in these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
These cookies aren't what I'd consider to be one of my favorites. The dough mixes quite dry and needs those couple teaspoons of water the author mentions. The dough has very little, to no flavor and I even added almond extract and vanilla. Very disappointing. They also cook a little doughy and I even increased baking time and drained the cherries well, then dried them on paper towels. Most likely I will not be making these again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I printed the recipe with no picture, and a few days later made the cookies. Mine aremore like "cherry pillows". I might have to try again next year to see if I can get them to look better. Ok, I put the powdered sugar in the dough and it was super stiff, so added water to the dough to get it workable. At first I wasn't crazy about them, but they've totally grown on me. I also think adding some almond extract to the dough would be helpful and would do that next time I bake these. Overall, I would bake them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sumchelle
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I'm not the kind who makes the roll out cookies, but these looked so cute and different, that I had to give them a whirl. Amazingly, these weren't as hard as expected, and was actually fun to assemble! (Fused the seams with a bit of water) The bake time could be a bit longer, as they did come out slightly under done. Did add in some powdered sugar to the dough mix (probably about 1/2 cup), and used Neufchatel. Taste as good as they look!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Good recipe very similar to my grammas. I take the dough and wrap it around the maraschino cherries that have stems and then sprinkle them with red sugar crystals before they bake. Its like cookie covered cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
This recipe needed some sugar in the dough, so I added 1/2 a cup of confectioners sugar to it! The dough was a bit hard to handle, but adding a touch of water helped. I might make these again, they tasted good and were pretty, however, next time I will squish the cookies down after rolling so that the cerries rest nicely, rather than looking obviously like I had rolled them into the dough. 4 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beccakw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
Yummy! And so easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
I put alot of effort into these. The first Christmas cookie I ever made and it didn't work out. However, seeing the review with rum and frost rolled in coconut, wow. Will TRY again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States