Bon Bon Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
The dough was plain and still tasted raw after doubling the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crystal River, Florida, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I made a mistake with the recipe and added 1 cup of the confectioner's sugar to the batter. Of course it was really dry and when I re-read the recipe I noticed my error. Rather than trash the batter I decided to try to salvage it. I added an egg to the batter and saved the last 1/2 cup of sugar for dusting. Mixed up the dough, rolled it out, added the cherries and baked the cookies. Amazingly they were delicious!! There was just a little bit of sweetness (which I like) so I can imagine without the sugar in the batter, they would be bland. I also think the egg help keep the batter from being so dry and crumbly as some reviewers have noted. Plus I used butter instead of shortening for a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I made these cookies for people at my school and they L-O-V-E-D them.:) Had to make a lot more! Ha ha ha..Thank you for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodSpeedxx

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
mmm so good! I substituted butter for shortening and had to cook them for about double the time. I also used 'natural' maraschino cherries which were sitting in cane sugar, making the cookies extra delicious. I didn't have a lot of faith because the cookies kept coming unrolled but they turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Dough had NO sweetness to it at all! Very crumbly and dry. Will never make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This was fun to make with my daughters 5 & 8, they rolled, I cut the strips out with a pizza cutter and then they rolled up the cherries and dough. I also added some cherry juice and vanilla to dough. was good but not great, think I might add some almond extract next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
So fun, delicious, and different. It really mixes up the cookie platter in a good way! Everyone ate them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salisbury, Maryland, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
The recipe as is was ok; but I would only give it 3 out of 5 stars. The dough did not roll well and when it baked is cracked and the cookies did not look pretty. I added a beaten egg to the dough and it made all the difference in the world. The dough was then easy to roll. It did require additional baking time (2-3 minutes) but the results were tremendous. The cookies cake out looking just like the ones in the picture. I also highly recommend soaking the cherries in a good rum for a few days. These where the hit of the holidays. The last thing I did with these cookies was dip the tops in dark chocolate. You need a dark chocolate because milk chocolate is just a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScratchCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I think that this works out really well, just watch out because mine unrolled in the oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyPanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Made these for my Christmas cookie trays. I'm gonna make them again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States