Bon Bon Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
i love this recipe. my great aunt makes them but instead of dusting them with powdered sugar, dips them in red icing (like the buttercream icing on the back of the powdered sugar box) and rolls them in coconut. she also soaks the cherries in rum the night before she makes them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Good recipe very similar to my grammas. I take the dough and wrap it around the maraschino cherries that have stems and then sprinkle them with red sugar crystals before they bake. Its like cookie covered cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
These were wonderful, and a very nice change of pace! I made them at a cookie bake/exchange and they were a huge hit! There were many basic cookies, and alot of chocolate ones, so these really stood out, and looked very festive. Although they were a lot of work, everyone complimented me, and said how they were worth all the work that went into them (of course they weren't the ones making them - lol). And I made 6 batches of them! Next time, I'll probably make some prior to the get-together to have for home, and make less to exchange. After all, if I'm going to that much effort, I want some for myself. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I really liked these. But, of course, I like almost all cream cheese cookies. I didn't use shortening, I used butter. It seemed to make them a little richer. I also chilled my dough before making them into cookies. The end product was lovely. I had to freeze the survivors in small batches, so I didn't gorge myself. TIP: You don't have to sift your powdered sugar here. I measured out what was needed and just ran my big wisk through the sugar. Works like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2000
My husband loves these. I added some powdered sugar to the dough. I hated to give them away as gifts, when I could be eating them at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2000
This needs salt! I used unsalted butter and less flour. The dough was okay, just insipid. When I made similar cookies as a kid we also wrpped the dough around walnuts and dates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
The recipe as is was ok; but I would only give it 3 out of 5 stars. The dough did not roll well and when it baked is cracked and the cookies did not look pretty. I added a beaten egg to the dough and it made all the difference in the world. The dough was then easy to roll. It did require additional baking time (2-3 minutes) but the results were tremendous. The cookies cake out looking just like the ones in the picture. I also highly recommend soaking the cherries in a good rum for a few days. These where the hit of the holidays. The last thing I did with these cookies was dip the tops in dark chocolate. You need a dark chocolate because milk chocolate is just a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScratchCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
The dough was very bland. Needed something. Also they are not easy to make. Getting them all to look pretty was a chore. Not worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
This was the worst cookie I've ever made! The dough had no taste at all. It might be better if lemon extract or almond extract were added, but I'm not going to bother trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
I made these last year for Christmas and am making them again this year. These are very cute and tasty. It is nice to make different cookies that are not well known. It makes giving them more fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States