Bolognese with Homemade Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This was so very very yummy! I had never made my own pasta before tonight. Something I always wanted to try. My mother in law gave me a pasta sheeter a while back and I finally found time to use it! It was so fun to make. I did find that the dough needed some moisture, so I added just enough 1/2and1/2 for richness to bring the dough together. Let it rest for a few minutes and it was smooth sailing from there on in! It cooked up quickly and beautifully. I love the flax meal in it too! It gave it extra texture as well as the added nutrition benefits. It looked beautiful in the dough too! The bolognese sauce was delicious. I had an over abundance of open red wine, so I subbed that for the water. I added a bit of ground sweet Italian sausage as well. Just personal preference. The recipe as is would be just as yummy. I just can't seem to leave well enough alone. I always have to put my own spin on things. I will be coming back to this dish again and again. So simple, yet great for guests as well. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami Baity

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Harvard, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
ok, I'll try this tonight, but without the flax seed meal. I haven't access to that, so I wonder if that's needed for the noodles. I suppose I'll find out. This recipe does look easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irish Pixie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sanquhar, Dumfriesshire, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Very good and easy to make and the taste is delicious. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This is a pretty good pasta sauce, but it doesn't have even a nodding acquaintance with Bolognese sauce. It's biting into what you thought was an apple and it turns out to be a pear; good, but an entirely different taste. This sauce has waaay too much tomato flavor for a Bolognese sauce; the Ragu Bolognese and Northern Italian Meat Sauce recipes on this site look a lot more like the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Griffin, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Lacked flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Excellent receipe. Thanks for sharing! One of my family's favorites on the weekends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NJKane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayonne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
add a pork chop for extra flavor and 1 TBSP beef boullion to kick up a notch!!! This sauce ws delicios and easy to make and only improves with time and cook for several hours, adding water as needed. Its fabulously authentic Italian Bol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nessiegrrl78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I did not make the noodles. I bought hand made noodles from the store. I followed the sauce recipe but added a little more garlic powder (about 1/2 tablespoon more) and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LKAKISH
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I have never made Bolognese Sauce before. I made it last night and we really loved it. I usually do not make changes to a new recipe, but I did add 1 tsp. of Basil and 1 tsp. of fennel seed. My husband tried the noodle recipe, but ran into some trouble with dryness. He will try again and watch the amount of flour going into the noodles. All and all we loved this recipe. Thanks for sharing it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I'm normally a baker and not a cook. I was proud of myself. I only made the bolognese sauce, not the pasta, but I'll be making it again! And again... and probably again. I only used 28 oz of the crushed tomatoes and subbed a 14 oz can of diced, seasoned tomatoes. I probably could have let it reduce for another twenty minutes but the parm at the end held it together pretty well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

How to Make Homemade Egg Pasta

Learn how easy it is to make fresh homemade egg pasta with your stand mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States