Bolognese on a Budget Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
So this recipe was a delight and definitely something I will make again. My tweaks were simple- I cooked the lentils first. In another pan I sautéed some onions until see through and then added some chopped garlic. Then I threw in the diced tomatoes and added some red wine (wine always makes pasta better - among other things :)!) and the veg bouillon cube and cooked the wine down a few minutes. By then the lentils were cooked so I added them to my sauce and cooked a few minutes longer to meld the flavors. I mixed the lentil sauce with wheat pasta and of course threw some cheese on top for good measure. The flavors were wonderful and the lentils gave the dish a heartiness but also a creaminess. Next time I'll add mushrooms for more meatiness and spinach for extra nutrition. So many variations can be had here. Truly a keeper of a dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I changed the order of cooking the food items. Sauteed the onions first, then added the rest of the ingredients, brought to boil, and turned down the heat and covered to simmer for half an hour. Not bad. Not spectacular... but a good meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
A good base, but definitely needed a little more in the way of flavor. I personally ended up adding some mushrooms, spinach, dried basil, and fennel seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
five stars for easy & healthy! I found the taste too bland so added 2 cubes of veg. bouillon, 1 tsp Italian seasoning and a dash of Worcestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaperWest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
bland. I tried to season it up w/ garlic, a bay leaf, and some italian seasoning. It didn't help. The lentils needed to simmer for a very long time to get flavor in them. Not similar to a bolognese sause at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This was pretty good--at first I thought it was a little bland but I added some red pepper flakes and it grew on me. I added extra garlic, basil, parsley and oregano and used jarred pasta sauce instead of canned tomatoes. I used WAY more water than it called for because the lentils just kept absorbing and they took about 40 min to get soft. I don't care for the firm lentils. We have vegetarian twice a week so I'm always looking for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I really enjoyed this. It came together quickly and tasted great! I took the advice of others and added a whole veg bullion cube (1/2 a cube was one serving so I doubled it) and added 2 cloves minced garlic w the lentils. I also added a bay leaf w the tomatoes and some dried basil near the end. I'm vegan and this is a quick recipe I'm adding in regular rotation. My boyfriend (not a vegan) added Italian sausage cooked separately to his. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
This is such a healthy way to make a pasta sauce. I made a few mods: added garlic to flavor the lentils while they were cooking, and I used prepared tomato sauce. It's important to cook the lentils until they are really soft, so I added more water at the end until I liked the consistency. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
I made it wrong, I put in enough water to boil noodles instead of 1 3/4 c like the recipe called for. Consequently the sauce was very runny, even tho when I realized my mistake I measured the water out. That said, I was disappointed. I used flavored tomatoes and the sauce was still bland. I did like the use of the lentils. I'd give it one star, but I have to give it a little credit for my mistake. May try it again correctly, but not sure if it is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kg2943

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Maybe I'm just not a big fan of lentils but I found this recipe kind of bland and not comparable to a good bolognese sauce. Perhaps it should be called Lentil and Tomato Sauce? My baby loved it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States