Bolognese Stuffed Bell Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
So delicious and a big hit with the family. The kids even ate the peppers for once! I used Orzo instead of rice and added minced onion and garlic to the celery and carrots. IMO a true Bolognese needs to cook quite a bit longer to get the meat to be super tender and fall apart, so I also added a bit more marinara than the recipe calls for and allowed the sauce to simmer on low for about three hours. I would also say that the wine should be added first and allowed to reduce a bit before adding the marinara. These are just a few things that I picked up from my hubby's Nona (very Italian Grandma :)) but I do think that the added time and ingredients make a difference. I also added Panko and parsley to the parmesean topping. That was my favorite part, cheesy, crunchy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
This is real good!!! I add 1 garlic and onion to the sauté the rest just the same. 1 pound fills 3 bell peeper medium size cut long. I did put the peppers alone in the oven while doing the sauté and meet should add a little bit of salt and pepper to in take them out fill them with meet and put panko on cheese and 30 min was ready. I use cooking wine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
We did orzo instead of rice. We LOVE garlic and added to taste. Seasoned with salt and pepper to taste. Added 1/4 cup diced sweet onion to the vegetable mix. I would add more carrot and celery than the recipe calls for. And we did add bread crumbs to the parm cheese. We grated our own parm cheese also. Much richer taste! 6 peppers are too many, we only did 4 with this recipe without adjusting our measurements. My husband HATED stuffed peppers until I made this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
I have made this several times just as it is wrote. These are the best stuffed bell peppers ever! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DENISE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hudson, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
One of my absolute favorite go-to recipes. It's perfect as-is and it's also a good recipe to tweak for your needs. I've made with both ground beef and turkey and both are wonderful. I've skipped the heavy cream and still very good. I love this recipe too as a great way to use leftovers. I might use separate leftover rice and meat from different meals and doing stuffed bells is great way to reuse those leftovers and I always reference this recipe. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Mammoth Lakes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Great springboard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Wonderful....The other day my husband brought home a bottle of red wine and it was not very good!! So I thought that I could use it in a recipe instead. I had just bought some peppers (red and yellow) and found this recipe! Made it according to directions....used smoky bacon and it was wonderful!! Will add it to our dinner rotation!! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gypsy Judi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Yummy. Used the real bacon bits instead of taken the time for the bacon. Very good meal. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I am not a fan of stuffed peppers, however we had an abundance in the garden and decided to try this recipe. What a surprise, this recipe was delicious. I will certainly prepare it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
This is one of the best stuffed pepper recipes ive tried, and ive tried quite a few Thanks kasm75 for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States