Bolognese Stuffed Bell Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
If there was the option for adding more stars, I'd do it for this recipe--delicious! I did heed the comments made by other reviewers about how much "sauce" the original recipe made and upped everything a touch (for example I used 3/4 # of ground beef and 1/2 c. heavy cream...). Also followed my instincts & other's suggestions to par boil the peppers first-good idea. I added a liberal sprinkle of shredded mozzarella on top with the parmesan just because that's what my mom always used to do. I also added in a couple cloves of minced garlic & about a 1/4 c. of finely diced onion because I thought I read it in the recipe (it's not) but it was delicious anyway. The only tiny compaint I might have is that the pancetta wasn't crispy--I figured it wouldn't be, but wanted to not mess with the recipe too much on the first time out. Next time I'm going to crisp it up first, remove it from the pan. Use the little bit of grease instead of olive oil to saute the vegetables & then stir it in just before stuffing the peppers. Paired it (like mom always did) with homemade mashed potatoes and we had one heck of a dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Highly recommend if you like spicy meatsauce/filling. My bell peppers ended up being spoiled, so I just made some pasta and poured this sauce over the top of it! Making it again for my family, without the bell peppers and putting it on top of Rigitoni!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Excellent!!! This recipe has a great flavor. I have been recommending it to my family, friends and co-workers. Everyone that has made this recipe now likes their stuffed peppers this way better than any other way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by khibner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I followed the recipe to the T with the exception of using 1 lb. ground turkey instead of beef and orzo instead of rice (to use up a pkg). I've tried lots of different ways of making bell peppers and this will now be my "go to" recipe. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NanaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Eureka Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I thought this was an interesting and unique recipe for stuffed peppers! I loved it! My husband, ahhhh, sort of only because he didn't really like the peppers, but he did like the stuffing. I read the reviews and changed a few things. I did blanche the peppers like other reviewers said. I did not use celery because we are not fans, but replaced it with yellow onion which was delicious. I also used about 1/3 lb of ground beef and a 1/4 lb ground sausage - which was really flavorful. I also cooked the rice first in my rice steamer...I never have good luck with "uncooked" rice in a recipe. It was fine, I just added it at the end and let it all simmer for 10 minutes. I wanted a side dish and made polenta...yum!! It was a perfect compliment to the peppers and it all tasted good mixed up together. I did have left-over stuffing because I only stuffed 4 peppers so after a few days when the stuffing was all yummy and marinated, I added a jar of marinara sauce, cooked it up and served it over spaghetti...THAT my husband loved!! I would actually make this again but as a creamy bolognese sause over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avabelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morro Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This was such a delicious recipe! I used my home grown red bell peppers and they were cooked to perfect tender crisp doneness. My husband who usually does not like cooked peppers loved it as well. They also made great left overs for lunch. The only thing I changed was topped them with a slice of motzarella...I love cheese :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
wow. we loved these so much! I used home grown bell peppers (which were small) so i had a ton of left over filling, which taste awesome by itself. I didnt have ground beef on hand, so i used ground sausage, i made it with the bacon and just used regular pasta sauce. we didnt have red wine or heavy cream, i just used 2% milk. turned out nice and thick anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
AWESOME!! This has become one of our favorite things to make, my husband LOVES this. He raves about it every time. I do a few things differently: season the beef (I use ground sirloin) salt, pepper, and worcestershire, double the garlic, add onions, I cook the meat, onion, bell pepper (I chop up the extra bell pepper that you cut off the top and add that into it, not to waste anything :)) carrots, celery, and garlic all at once. I don't use ANY oil at all. use any spag sauce that you want. I have greek plain yogurt in my fridge always.. I use it in place of sour cream and heavy cream in everything I make, I skip the red wine, and the parm in the recipe. and blanch the peppers. I make this at least once a month and being so, I just take a bag of croutons and smash it until it is crummy and then add equal parts parmesan cheese and keep that in the fridge till I need it to top off the peppers. I cook them on a foil lined cookie sheet to make clean up easier. Thanks SO much for this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
This is so delicious as is, but its also easy leave out ingredients to cut back on prep time without sacrificing taste. When I feel lazy, I often substitute the parmesan cheese, whipping cream, and marinara sauce for Classico's Vodka Sauce and dont bother with the celery or carrots. If I do these things it cuts the prep time and the rice is usually done by the time Im cooking everything else. I top with parmesan cheese. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Kitahara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I used bacon and a full pound of ground beef. Very tasty, especially the one that I saved and eat for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States