Bolognese Stuffed Bell Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I've made these a few times and they always turn out fantastic. My favorite version is to substitute Italian sausage for the ground beef and bacon - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Colfax, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This recipe is amazing! I did do a few things different though. I blanced the peppers as others suggested. I used mild ground sausage instead of the pancetta/bacon and I used chicken broth instead of the red wine. I also added onions because I like onions. :) After that I followed the recipe to the letter. So tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skgreenbush

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
These were alright but not exactly what I was looking for. I probably won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Wow. These were a hit at dinner! I made the rice in a rice cooker, and during the last 10 mins of cooking time I added about a cup the marinara sauce so the rice would soak up some of the flavor. I used about 1/4 cup of carrots and celery to make the dish a little more healthy. My boyfriend said that this will be a regular in our kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaciMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This was pretty tasty, i tried it with green, yellow and red bell peppers. I would like it to be more tomatoey in flavor, so i guess next time i'll add more sauce or eliminate the rice. I bit too much rice for my taste, maybe i'll try orzo like another recommended. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lulu4014
Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Lovely combination of ingredients creating a beautiful sauce. Almost a shame to mix it up with rice and stuff it in a pepper, but I'm not complaining! I added onion and garlic to the vegetable mix for a more classic Bolognese and even tho' I generally prefer bacon over pancetta, in this case I felt it was well worth using the pancetta as it imparts its own, unique flavor - much different from bacon. Having my own marinara on hand that I had put up from my garden was a definite plus. As I always do with stuffed peppers, I parboiled them for a few minutes before I stuffed them and I believe that's a necessary step. The filling is not enough to fill 6 peppers so plan on making more than the recipe states. These were pleasant to prepare as well as to eat - a definitely enjoyable dinner. All the ingredients meld to create a flavor all its own and each ingredient plays an important role. Creative and delicious departure from the classic stuffed pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Very Very good. Made it twice and it even got better. not one complaint. Thanks this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pan burner

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
These are so good! I love the stuffing mixture. I did have some changes though based on what I had at home and what I like. No celery, no wine. Brown rice instead of white, turkey bacon instead of pancetta. Added some chopped onion and zuchinni with the carrots and seasoned the beef mixture with salt and pepper while cooking. Still came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Delicious! I did par-blanch the peppers for 3 minutes but I don't think it is necessary. Only used 3 pcs. bacon for lower cals and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
These are the best stuffed bell peppers I have ever had! I did change up the recipe a little bit because I didn't have any red pepper flakes, I used some hot paprika instead. I also topped the bell peppers with some mozzarella before I baked it. They were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States