Bolognese Stuffed Bell Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
This was so delicious! I did make a few changes but nothing too major and mostly at the suggestion of other reviewers: blanched peppers for 3 minutes, added one clove minced garlic to carrot/celery saute, doubled red pepper flakes because we like our food spicy, added some salt and garlic powder here and there, and mixed 2tbsp panko bread crumbs to parm.cheese topping for added crunch. This is definitely going into regular dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARA_BULL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
First, I hate bell peppers but really wanted to try this dish, I am soo glad I did. I used 4 red bell peppers and made this exactly as the recipe calls with one addition I mixed panko bread crumbs with the parmesan cheese topping to give it a light golden crispy taste and look. The presentation was right out any gourmet cook book photo. The taste was out of this world. My brother hates bell peppers and absolutely loved this dish going back for seconds. I will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Lovely combination of ingredients creating a beautiful sauce. Almost a shame to mix it up with rice and stuff it in a pepper, but I'm not complaining! I added onion and garlic to the vegetable mix for a more classic Bolognese and even tho' I generally prefer bacon over pancetta, in this case I felt it was well worth using the pancetta as it imparts its own, unique flavor - much different from bacon. Having my own marinara on hand that I had put up from my garden was a definite plus. As I always do with stuffed peppers, I parboiled them for a few minutes before I stuffed them and I believe that's a necessary step. The filling is not enough to fill 6 peppers so plan on making more than the recipe states. These were pleasant to prepare as well as to eat - a definitely enjoyable dinner. All the ingredients meld to create a flavor all its own and each ingredient plays an important role. Creative and delicious departure from the classic stuffed pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2008
Out of this world delicious! I made as directed with the only changes being that I used onion instead of celery (didn't have any), added some garlic & didn't slice the peppers in half lengthwise (I took the tops off & gutted out the seeds). I made my own tomato sauce to use in this but I don't think it mattered- we couldn't tell the sauce was homemade with all the ingredients in this recipe. I'll just use jarred sauce next time. I served with polenta although a light salad would make a better side dish. Panna cotta with fresh raspberries on top for dessert (cannoli would also make a fine dessert to go with this). This was a lot of work & took a long time to make but was worth the time & effort. My husband says it gets 10 stars. I highly recommend. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
The dish was very tasty, a hit with my husband and friends. However, I found prep time to be quite a bit more than 30 minutes. Also, only had enough rice and beef mixture to fill 4 peppers (the recipe says should be enough for 6 peppers). Served with mashed potatoes and steamed broccoli - presenation was very colorful, expecially when red bell peppers are used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Big hit. I added shredded zuchinni and replaced celery with onion. I also used ground turkey instead of ground beef. Great way to serve vegtables!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Loved this! My brother said it was absolutely delicious. I did blanch the peppers for 3 minutes and used onion instead of celery. Otherwise, followed the recipe exactly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Mitchell
Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
I had to use regular bacon because I didn't have time to shop until I found pancetta. Using pancetta would make it much better, I think, and I also liked the flavor better before adding the cream. Stuffing peppers with bolognese sauce is a brilliant idea, and I will do this again with brown rice and my regular bolognese sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This was just fabulous....it's a keepr for sure. I doubled the filling recipe because it just didn' sound like enough, we like the peppers well stuffed...it turned out perfectly! If you like bolognese, you'll LOVE these stuffed peppers. Bet they're even better as leftovers...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Swansea, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
Absolutely delicious! I really think the pancetta made it and would say if you don't have any it's worth a trip to the market to get that flavor in the dish. I used brown rice instead of white and added some white cheddar to the top of the peppers. The only thing I would do differently next time is to make a double batch because these things go quickly! I also only used 4 peppers and it fit perfectly. I will be making them again, probably soon. A big hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States