Bolognese Stuffed Bell Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
these were great. I've always loved stuffed bell peppers. but this was a new twist for taste. yummy. one suggestion ... make your rice slightly on the drier side. the rice soaks up the moisture out of the meat mixture , so it's not too runny.I also put my peppers in the oven while I was making the meat to give them some extra cook time. I think the peppers would have been too "raw" if I hadn't . ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This was tasty but not spectacular. I made some changes to the recipe by adding about 1/2 c. diced onions, and 1/2 c. diced mushrooms and about 1 1/2 tsp. Penzey's Italian seasoning blend...also substituted brown rice for the white rice, otherwise the same. I think next time I'll add some Italian sausage to give it a more authentic Bolognese flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Wow! The sauce in this is amazing! I made some changes because I was working with whatever was left in my fridge. Brown rice instead of white (takes forever...don't try this unless you have lots of time!), added 1/4 of an onion and a clove of garlic to the veggies, used only bacon, no ground beef. I also used white wine (it was all I had...) and skipped the Parmesan in favour of some old cheddar sprinkled on top. I also added some corn, and blanched the green peppers as other reviewers recommended. Wonderful stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nelleke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
These were THE BEST stuffed peppers I have ever had. I did notice in the reviews that the recipe as written for a serving of 6 did not make enough stuffing for 6 peppers. I made the 6 servings and was able to fill 5 VERY LARGE peppers whole. I used 2 times the cheese in the mixture and topped with potato chip crumbs. My husband HATES peppers so I blanched them before cooking and he ate 1/2 of a pepper!!!! He said comming from someone who hates peppers that they should have been blanched longer than 5 mins. I feared they would become to mushy so I stuck with the 5 min Blanching. I will be recomending this to everyone!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anna-Bat
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I love this recipe. I added a clove of garlic, used onion in place of the celery and added a bit of seasoned panko crumbs to the parmesan cheese sprinkled on the top - it gives the peppers a nice crunch out of the oven. I chopped the top off the peppers and stuffed them that way (instead of lengthwise) and found that this makes enough filling for 4 bell peppers. Delicious stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This was delicious! It was my first time making a traditional stuffed pepper and I made some tweeks to fit my style of cooking! I used 1 cup of instant brown rice, one small onion and two large cloves of garlic chopped instead of the carrots and celery, a full pound of ground beef seasoned with salt, pepper, cumin and a few sprinkles of italian seasoning! When I added the marinara, red wine(chianti was delicious in the dish), and crushed red pepper I aslo added a can of rotel that I had drained. I boiled the peppers for about 5-7 minutes to help the cooking process along. I stuffed the peppers sprinkled them with some parmesan put in the oven for 15-20 minutes then I topped them with a generous helping of shredded mozzarella and let that get melted and just a little toasty! About 10 minutes! Served it with a fresh salad on the side! And my boyfriend was very happy to have left over stuffing and a left over pepper too! We'll definetly be making thins again! It's our new favorite dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
This turned out amazingly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
My husband and I really enjoyed these peppers. What a healthy treat. I made them as is except I left out the celery and didn't put the additional oil on top at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
This was SO good! I could have eaten the sauce/meat mixture before I even stuffed the peppers. I could see how the bolognese sauce could be excellent on pasta as well. I highly recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I love this. I tweaked the recipe slightly by adding onion and garlic and omitting the red pepper and heavy cream. This recipe is very versatile and you can really do anything with it. My husband loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsDuncan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States