Bolognese Stuffed Bell Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Stuffed peppers are ultimate comfort food. These are terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
OMG this is AWESOME. My family loved it and so did I. The sauce alone is fabulous but in the peppers it is also great. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenna4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This recipe was delicious! I usually stray from a recipe quite a bit, but this one I only changed a few things: used brown rice, grated my carrots, and didn't use pancetta. I also added onion and garlic to my hamburger meat as it was cooking. I followed some other reviewers and blanched my bell peppers first, and I think that helps a lot. I also filled my peppers halfway, put a pinch of mozzarella in the center, and topped with more filling. I added a little mozzarella on top for presentation too. I will DEFINITELY be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rolla, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
These are still in the oven and I can already tell these are going to be good!!! I have never cooked stuffed bell peppers, but always wanted to. I figured I'd use the ol' standby recipe, but I saw this and said heavy cream? Orzo pasta? awesome!! I had to use bacon instead of Pancetta (store didn't have any, bleh), and I sauteed onion and garlic. I also added 1/2 cup red wine (LOVE cooking with wine). Finally, when I put the peppers in the dish, I surrounded them with crushed tomatoes. I can't wait to eat!! mmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anniebb25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Not impressed, followed recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justchrys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cypress, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I'd give this 10 stars if I could! The BEST recipe I've come across on allrecipes.com and I use this site every week! I converted this to the slow cooker, (sauteed some garlic with the celery and carrots) put the uncooked rice into the sauce and simmered 10 min. before spooning the mixture into the peppers. Even put a small chunk of mozzerella on top. I'm glad I took other reader's suggestion - the filling is only enough for 4 peppers, not 6... My husband is still talking about them. I'll be making this again and again and again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
If there was the option for adding more stars, I'd do it for this recipe--delicious! I did heed the comments made by other reviewers about how much "sauce" the original recipe made and upped everything a touch (for example I used 3/4 # of ground beef and 1/2 c. heavy cream...). Also followed my instincts & other's suggestions to par boil the peppers first-good idea. I added a liberal sprinkle of shredded mozzarella on top with the parmesan just because that's what my mom always used to do. I also added in a couple cloves of minced garlic & about a 1/4 c. of finely diced onion because I thought I read it in the recipe (it's not) but it was delicious anyway. The only tiny compaint I might have is that the pancetta wasn't crispy--I figured it wouldn't be, but wanted to not mess with the recipe too much on the first time out. Next time I'm going to crisp it up first, remove it from the pan. Use the little bit of grease instead of olive oil to saute the vegetables & then stir it in just before stuffing the peppers. Paired it (like mom always did) with homemade mashed potatoes and we had one heck of a dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Highly recommend if you like spicy meatsauce/filling. My bell peppers ended up being spoiled, so I just made some pasta and poured this sauce over the top of it! Making it again for my family, without the bell peppers and putting it on top of Rigitoni!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Excellent!!! This recipe has a great flavor. I have been recommending it to my family, friends and co-workers. Everyone that has made this recipe now likes their stuffed peppers this way better than any other way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by khibner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I followed the recipe to the T with the exception of using 1 lb. ground turkey instead of beef and orzo instead of rice (to use up a pkg). I've tried lots of different ways of making bell peppers and this will now be my "go to" recipe. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NanaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Eureka Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States