Bolognese Stuffed Bell Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I thought this was an interesting and unique recipe for stuffed peppers! I loved it! My husband, ahhhh, sort of only because he didn't really like the peppers, but he did like the stuffing. I read the reviews and changed a few things. I did blanche the peppers like other reviewers said. I did not use celery because we are not fans, but replaced it with yellow onion which was delicious. I also used about 1/3 lb of ground beef and a 1/4 lb ground sausage - which was really flavorful. I also cooked the rice first in my rice steamer...I never have good luck with "uncooked" rice in a recipe. It was fine, I just added it at the end and let it all simmer for 10 minutes. I wanted a side dish and made polenta...yum!! It was a perfect compliment to the peppers and it all tasted good mixed up together. I did have left-over stuffing because I only stuffed 4 peppers so after a few days when the stuffing was all yummy and marinated, I added a jar of marinara sauce, cooked it up and served it over spaghetti...THAT my husband loved!! I would actually make this again but as a creamy bolognese sause over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avabelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morro Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This was such a delicious recipe! I used my home grown red bell peppers and they were cooked to perfect tender crisp doneness. My husband who usually does not like cooked peppers loved it as well. They also made great left overs for lunch. The only thing I changed was topped them with a slice of motzarella...I love cheese :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
wow. we loved these so much! I used home grown bell peppers (which were small) so i had a ton of left over filling, which taste awesome by itself. I didnt have ground beef on hand, so i used ground sausage, i made it with the bacon and just used regular pasta sauce. we didnt have red wine or heavy cream, i just used 2% milk. turned out nice and thick anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
AWESOME!! This has become one of our favorite things to make, my husband LOVES this. He raves about it every time. I do a few things differently: season the beef (I use ground sirloin) salt, pepper, and worcestershire, double the garlic, add onions, I cook the meat, onion, bell pepper (I chop up the extra bell pepper that you cut off the top and add that into it, not to waste anything :)) carrots, celery, and garlic all at once. I don't use ANY oil at all. use any spag sauce that you want. I have greek plain yogurt in my fridge always.. I use it in place of sour cream and heavy cream in everything I make, I skip the red wine, and the parm in the recipe. and blanch the peppers. I make this at least once a month and being so, I just take a bag of croutons and smash it until it is crummy and then add equal parts parmesan cheese and keep that in the fridge till I need it to top off the peppers. I cook them on a foil lined cookie sheet to make clean up easier. Thanks SO much for this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
This is so delicious as is, but its also easy leave out ingredients to cut back on prep time without sacrificing taste. When I feel lazy, I often substitute the parmesan cheese, whipping cream, and marinara sauce for Classico's Vodka Sauce and dont bother with the celery or carrots. If I do these things it cuts the prep time and the rice is usually done by the time Im cooking everything else. I top with parmesan cheese. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I used bacon and a full pound of ground beef. Very tasty, especially the one that I saved and eat for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
These were excellent! The stuffing flavors were awesome. The cooking time was just about right. I think blanching the peppers ahead of time might have made them less crunchy, but I like them that way. I also cut the peppers in half to stuff them. It seems to be easier for me and I like the presentation. It is also easier if you do not want to eat a whole stuffed pepper yourself. The only thing I did differently was leave out the cheese and used coconut milk for the cream due to allergy in the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Pretty good and easy...good with the peppers chopped up after baking and put on top of additional rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Made these tonight and they are well worth the effort! Used Orzo pasta instead of rice. Also doubled most ingredients based on other reviews. Can't get pancetta, but found marinara in a jar (Marzetti)that is flavored with onions and pancetta. Also used 1/2 lb italian sausage. Big hit at dinner, but leftovers will be even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
This was delicious, per others suggestions, I minced 6 cloves of garlic (we love garlic) and added it to the celery/carrot saute. I used ground turkey instead of beef and added an extra 1.4 cup of wine. I also added a pinch of sea salt, garlic powder and black pepper for extra flavor. This will be added to our menu rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States