Bolognese Stuffed Bell Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
A different taste for us but very good stuffed peppers. I've never made a bolognese without onions and garlic, so added those to the veggies. Also par-boiled the peppers for a few minutes to make sure they were tender. Hubby and most of the kids commented that they really liked this but son and I both felt that next time a little more wine can be added and the simmering time will be extended to deepen the flavors a little more. I prepared 1 1/2 times the sauce ingredients and it was the perfect amount. There would not have been enough meat mixture without this adjustment. We will make these again with the tweaks mentioned. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
This was absolutely delicious. My little sister doesn't care for meat and hates bacon and she loved it. The only 2 things I didn't use were the red pepper flakes and the carrots because I didn't have any. I will definitely be making these again. Thank you so much for this recipe my family really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I DOUBLES the ENTIRE recipe and barely had enough for 6 large bell peppers. Other than that, I LOVED this recipe. It is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
We bought good peppers from a local place with the intention of making stuffed peppers; I liked the ones I had growing up, but I knew my husband would not. These, with the addition of the cream and parmesan cheese, were just what we needed. I used italian turkey sausage instead of the beef and the pancetta--that's what I had, and I honestly didn't want the pancetta or bacon in there (it sounded weird to me). I halved the rice and used 5 peppers. It was just enough. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by taertman2516

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I've made these a few times and they always turn out fantastic. My favorite version is to substitute Italian sausage for the ground beef and bacon - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Colfax, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This recipe is amazing! I did do a few things different though. I blanced the peppers as others suggested. I used mild ground sausage instead of the pancetta/bacon and I used chicken broth instead of the red wine. I also added onions because I like onions. :) After that I followed the recipe to the letter. So tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skgreenbush

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
These were alright but not exactly what I was looking for. I probably won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Wow. These were a hit at dinner! I made the rice in a rice cooker, and during the last 10 mins of cooking time I added about a cup the marinara sauce so the rice would soak up some of the flavor. I used about 1/4 cup of carrots and celery to make the dish a little more healthy. My boyfriend said that this will be a regular in our kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaciMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This was pretty tasty, i tried it with green, yellow and red bell peppers. I would like it to be more tomatoey in flavor, so i guess next time i'll add more sauce or eliminate the rice. I bit too much rice for my taste, maybe i'll try orzo like another recommended. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lulu4014
Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Lovely combination of ingredients creating a beautiful sauce. Almost a shame to mix it up with rice and stuff it in a pepper, but I'm not complaining! I added onion and garlic to the vegetable mix for a more classic Bolognese and even tho' I generally prefer bacon over pancetta, in this case I felt it was well worth using the pancetta as it imparts its own, unique flavor - much different from bacon. Having my own marinara on hand that I had put up from my garden was a definite plus. As I always do with stuffed peppers, I parboiled them for a few minutes before I stuffed them and I believe that's a necessary step. The filling is not enough to fill 6 peppers so plan on making more than the recipe states. These were pleasant to prepare as well as to eat - a definitely enjoyable dinner. All the ingredients meld to create a flavor all its own and each ingredient plays an important role. Creative and delicious departure from the classic stuffed pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States