Bolognese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
So delicious! The flavors in this sauce are amazing! I didn't change the recipe at all. It just makes my recipes taste more gourmet and flavorful. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jojo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
The family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I made it exactly as stated and my Italian Husband (a true New York Italian) loved it! Better than his mother's, aunt's and grandmother's recipe. Also works great in a lasagna. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dawndambrosio

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermosa Beach, California, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
The absolute best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Sauce was excellent but, next time I will add more to make the sauce more "wet" it was too thick. I wound up adding it to a lasagna I made...wow...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Came out delicious. I added some ground red peppers, sprinkled some Lawries Seasoning in the sauce, salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brea, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Yum! My husband can't stop raving about this sauce. The only changes I made was to use plum tomatoes from the garden instead of canned, omitted the pork and used 1/2 the ground beef. Just enough meat to add substance and extra flavor. Doubled the recipe and froze a few quarts for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
After reading the reviews, I decided that I must make this and see how it turned out. The only substitution in the beginning was to double the chicken broth because I didn't have any wine on hand and use tomato paste instead of sauce. I did saute the Holy Trinity and garlic in the bacon grease and olive oil because that is essential in releasing the flavors of the carrots, onions and celery. The sliced mushrooms were mixed in with the ground beef as it browned. I repeatedly tasted the sauce as it was cooking and found that it lacked something. I added 3 additional whole cloves of garlic and a couple of beef bouillon cubes and it was still missing something. Salt, garlic powder, two chicken bouillon cubes and it was still off. Finally added about a 1/4 to a 1/3 cup of sugar in order stave off some of the bitterness and it was just what the sauce needed. I also let the sauce simmer for about 4 hours to help the flavors to develop. To finish it off, I added 1/4 cup of milk and fresh grated Parmesan cheese. My kids raved and I enjoyed the finished product. However, when making this, you must continually taste the sauce to see how it is progressing and make adjustments as necessary. Thank you for the good base for our dinner tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Made this yesterday for a dinner and there wasn't any left. Needless to say I think it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JosieLLL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uncasville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
TEN STARS! MUST FOLLOW RECIPE EXACTLY AND COOK LOW AND SLOW AND REDUCE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stellawray

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States