Bolognese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
My family truly enjoyed this sauce. It is rich and flavorful. It is very authentic. I did add quite a bit more tomato sauce, wine, and chicken stock than it called for.I also increased the simmer time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
AWESOME & DIVINE!!! I am bad about not following a recipe.......the only change I made with this GREAT recipe was the substitution of sliced/chopped Prosciutto Ham instead of the bacon...less grease and personal favor. I topped the finished pasta bowls with grated Asiago Cheese. I had guest over and they flipped!!!! Thanx for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
Excellent recipe! I did make some modifications. I used ground turkey in place of the ground beef and turkey sausage in place of the pork. Also added some roma tomato's as well as more tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
This is the ho'made spaghetti sauce I have been searching for! I love the idea of it having veggies in it. My kids lapped it up, never knowing that it was better for them than the average spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
Excellent, incredibly easy to make. My mushrooms were bad so I left them out, it still tasted great. Try this one, it's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
excellent sauce for those Italians at heart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
A local restaurant makes an awesome bolognese using ground filet mignon so I wanted to try to make something similar at home. This recipe is a great start! To save time, I left out the bacon, the pork, the carrots. That made it so easy to prepare and IT WAS FABULOUS!!! I served it with penne pasta and fresh grated Parmesan on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
This is an EXCELLENT recipe. I have made it a number of times both for my family and for dinner parties. I have gotten rave reviews each time I have made it, and there is rarely any left. Even my picky husband loves it. I brown the bacon first and then remove the bacon from the pan leaving the grease behind to saute the onions in. I found that when cooking the bacon and onions together, as suggested in the recipe, the bacon never really browns and is kind of soggy and rubbery from all the liquid the onions create while cooking. I also double the amount of tomato sauce for a little runnier sauce. I cook the sauce in a crockpot on low setting for the afternoon instead of in a saucepan on the stove. Great recipe, we really love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
217 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
Yum!! I loved this and so did my family. Except of course my 4 yr old who will not touch anything red. I did make a few changes. I left out the bacon, used a can of diced tomatoes, and a whole 15 oz. can of tomato sauce. I used a little more wine too. This recipe was very delicious. I served it over rigatoni along with breadsticks. I think though if you want 9 servings, you should probably make 1 1/2 times or double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
Excellent! Wonderful flavors! I made a double batch and I'm glad I did; it will be well worth pulling from the freezer when needed. I did make a few changes that all worked tastily: Cooking the bacon first was a great idea; thanks APRILSNYDER. I used both white Spanish onion and red onion; sautéed until well caramelized. I substituted sweet Italian pork sausage for the ground pork; yum. I doubled the amount of celery and next time I'll also halve the carrots and chop them and the onions more finely. IMPORTANT NOTE: The recipe calls for a 6oz. can of tomato sauce - but tomato sauce comes in 8oz. cans, I believe the author meant tomato paste which is used to thicken sauces and comes on 6oz. cans. Fantastic - don't forget the fresh grated Parmesan and a sprig of fresh basil for garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States