Bolognese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This had bacon in it, people, bacon…I expected that and the combination of beef and pork to make this the Bolognese that knocked my socks off. Sadly, for us it did not measure up to my turkey Bolognese but is a decent sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I made a few small changes only to use what I had on hand. I used two cans organic petite diced tomatoes and I omitted the celery. When I cooked the bacon, I had to drain it well when it was halfway done only because my bacon was really greasy. I tripled the garlic and because I wanted to keep the "beef" flavor throughout, I used beef stock and burgundy wine. After tasting it, I did add a sprinkling of brown sugar and I threw in a good amount more of basil and oregano. I didn't have the full hour to simmer, but I wish I had. It was pretty tasty anyhow, I served it over linguini that I tossed with a little EVOO and fresh grated parmesan and homemade rolls. Everyone enjoyed this meal, even my littlest! It's four and a half stars, really, because it does need the extra added basil, oregano and a little brown sugar. We all agreed that we can't ever go back to jarred spaghetti sauce, even if I do coupon well. This was just far superior to anything you can buy on the shelf in a jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
"Stupendously delicious!" declares my boyfriend! I made only a few changes and think they changed the recipe from 4 to 5 stars. First, I fried the bacon, removed it from the pan and reserved the grease in the pan. Second, I fried the onions, carrots, and celery, with one extra stalk of celery in the bacon fat over medium-high heat until the vegetables softened, about 7 or 8 minutes. I removed the veggies and set them aside. Third, I fried the meat and as it browned, I added the garlic. Fourth, I used fresh herbs instead of dried, and tripled the amount. Fifth, I added all ingredients together in an oven-safe pan and cooked it for two hours on 250 F in a convection oven. This cooking process allows the amino acids and sugars to combine into some amazing flavors and aromas. It also results in a little dehydration, which makes the sauce a little drier/thicker and much richer. Absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This was very good. I did take other reviewers' advice and increased the garlic to 3 cloves . I also increased the oregano and basil. I still felt that there was something missing, so that's why I'm not giving 5 stars. There was a certain zest that was lacking that I look for in a great sauce, but I still haven't figured out what that is...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maricopa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Sauce was hearty, meaty, and relatively straightforward to make. I followed the advice of other reviewers and used tomato paste (6 oz.) instead of tomato sauce, which turned out really well. I also used all the juice from the plum tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Sauce was very good. I heard last night on MasterChef from Chef Gordon Ramsey that a Bolognese sauce should be cooked a minimum of 3 hours to even be good so next time I'll simmer this a lot longer and see if it makes a difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by race22

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parma, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This is very good. Very hearty and thick. thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Not very much flavor at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pdloves2bake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Delicious! But takes a good 2 hours to complete. Could use another clove or 2 of garlic. Also sauce might be better a little thicker - add half and half?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
3.5 if you will. This was a meaty dish. I had no problems with it being runny. As mentioned, I think the tomato sauce was meant to be tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Living In: Fircrest, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States