Bolognese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
It will be 5 star next time I make it. It was absolutely delicious. I had one problem and that was with the bacon, onion, and garlic. Problem was that even on medium heat the garlic and onion cooked up way faster than the bacon. So next time I am gonna get the bacon started a few minutes before I add the onion and garlic. I am thinking of using pancetta instead of the bacon as well. In place of the ground pork I used ground sweet/mild Italian sausage which was good. This sauce was good served over linguini. Very good! We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
5 star - the best Bolognese ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Very tasty. Red wine worked just as well, since I did not have any white whine. Threw in a couple bay leaves, which rounded out the bolognese sauce, in addition to a dash of cream. Next time, I plan on throwing in the rest of the mushrooms for more veg. Thanks for the recipe! THis will be my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Very yummy! I made this to go with lasagna and it turned out so good. My Italian hubby always orders the bolognese lasagna at our favoirte fancy italian rest. we eat at and now I can make it for him. I would so suggest to make the sause early on as the longer it simmers the better the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I really enjoyed this recipe....I did follow other reviews....instead of using tomato sause, I used tomato paste so the sause wasn't runny and doing so the consistency came out right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AvaGsMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Carthage, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This sauce was AWESOME! My Husband and I loved it. I left out the mushrooms, because we don't care for them. The only other change I made was i took one turn of the pan with some balsamic vinegar. That seemed to bring the whole sauce togehter. Very nice recipe thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
excellent,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Fantastic!! My family LOVED this sauce and it tastes so authentic and I didn't have to stand over the pot for five hours as with a traditional bolognese! Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carpentersville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Yet another satisfied customer. Wow, what a great sauce. My alterations were minor. I used 3 cloves of garlic (put through a garlic press), not 1 and like many others, I used the 6 ounce can of Tomato PASTE, not sauce. In what is probably considered sacrilege, I also melted in about 3/4 of a block of cream cheese after the sauce was finished cooking. *heaven!* This makes a huge quantity of food and I took it to a potluck at work, expecting to bring home lots of it for lunches the rest of the week. Bad plan. The bowl was practically licked clean by the end of the day. (Oh and by the way, I cooked just a pound of pasta at first, as the recipe calls for and it got completely lost in the sauce. There was so much, it was swimming in it. I cooked an additional half pound and even with the much, it was still VERY saucy. The is enough sauce for 2 pounds of pasta, IMHO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
The best Bolognese I have ever made/eaten. My go to recipie from now on. Thanks Kimber!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shiloh, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States