Bolognese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I, like most reviewers, had to adjust this recipe to make it tasty. I personally think there is a major technique fault in this recipe in that it doesn't call for the mushroom/carrots/celery to be sauteed yet a lot of people recognized that and did it anyway. This process develops the flavor of the vegetables--a must in just about any recipe (even vegetable soup). Also, the sauce/paste issue is a major fault. Tomato paste is a must. One last thing, never serve sauce on top of plain, white pasta. The pasta should be stirred into the sauce so it is coated. Save a little pasta water to help loosen it up if needed. My Italian grandmother taught me this. I think this pile of white pasta habit was developed from American restaurants trying to cut down on costs. It is not the Italian way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I agree with the reviews, particularly the suggestions to use fresh herbs, pancetta, extra garlic, liver, and sautéing the onions, garlic and carrots. One more addition; I believe that classic Bolognese has fresh mint. It sounds strange to the uninitiated but truly pumps the Quentin flavor. Great recipe and reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
what a tasty change! I did change this recipe up, so this review is more just for me: didn't add the oil, didn't have the ground pork, did pasta sauce instead of tomatoes and sauce, didn't have wine to add, didn't add the oregano- forgot! Was goooood, would make it my way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Instinctively I knew that I should cook the bacon before adding the onion, garlic, etc., but I thought I'd try it as directed. My instincts were right. It turned out OK anyway but the bacon never got brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
My husbad really liked this. I did use crushed tomatoes instead of plum because that's what i keep on hand. I also replaced the stock with milk and let that soak into just the meat because all the other recipes had milk and I like it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenbabby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Great sauce, but it could use extra tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
It will be 5 star next time I make it. It was absolutely delicious. I had one problem and that was with the bacon, onion, and garlic. Problem was that even on medium heat the garlic and onion cooked up way faster than the bacon. So next time I am gonna get the bacon started a few minutes before I add the onion and garlic. I am thinking of using pancetta instead of the bacon as well. In place of the ground pork I used ground sweet/mild Italian sausage which was good. This sauce was good served over linguini. Very good! We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
5 star - the best Bolognese ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Very tasty. Red wine worked just as well, since I did not have any white whine. Threw in a couple bay leaves, which rounded out the bolognese sauce, in addition to a dash of cream. Next time, I plan on throwing in the rest of the mushrooms for more veg. Thanks for the recipe! THis will be my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Very yummy! I made this to go with lasagna and it turned out so good. My Italian hubby always orders the bolognese lasagna at our favoirte fancy italian rest. we eat at and now I can make it for him. I would so suggest to make the sause early on as the longer it simmers the better the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States