Bolognese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Wonderful recipe, third time making it and i still have yet to try it myself before its all gone. Family keeps eating it all on me. but like with most things i add a little something different. My family are all garlic lovers so i used about 3tbls of minced garlic and instead of the white wine i went with a merlot with a 12.5%alcohol. I just think red has more flavor. Other then those two things i pretty much followed the recipe...might have been a little heavy handed on the spices but 1/2tsp i couldn't taste at all. freezes very nicely for future dinners as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Absolutely wonderful !!!!!! Easy to make and taste's great. I made this in my crockpot becuse it was easier than leaving it on the stove for an hour and in the winter I enjoy smelling things cook in the crockpot for a few hours. Thank You for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy F.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This sauce was SO GOOD! Very flavorful and easy to make. I, like a few others, did saute my onions and garlic in the bacon fat and it did add to the full flavor of this recipe. Makes A LOT, so be ready to feed or freeze
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Wow was this delicious! Prepared as directed, although I left out the mushrooms (I'm allergic). Makes a lot - just the two of us, so will reheat for great leftovers this week. Wonder if the flavor deepens over time, like cacciatore or minestrone?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Youngreen Weihe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I made this for my family New Years Eve. It sounded so good with all the nice veggies and meats, it was tasteless and not enjoyed by all. Feel bad I made this for my crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I made this tonight and did not change a thing. I thought it was great. I cut the recipe in half (it's just me & my husband), and there's still plenty for another leftover dinner for us both. Surprisingly... my husband said he did NOT like the bacon!!! Whaaat??? I disagree and will make it again WITH the bacon. I used baby bow-tie pasta (Barilla Piccolini). Great recipe. Would have been better with some grated parmesan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norco, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Very yummy, but a bit runny. Will definitely keep this recipe to make again, but with a few adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikki_26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prospect, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I am giving this 4 stars because I felt that some things were very unnecessary, I think that the Carrots and Celery should be completely out of the ingredients, My husband is Italian and he was a bit confused about the veggies, it should be more of a meaty sauce and some what cheesy, But I did tweak some things instead of ground pork I put in Ground turkey to make it healthier and since I had already added veggies I also added baby broccoli to the mix, I also added bits of Gouda cheese then I let it simmer for an hour and it was GREAT! So Yummy! I love that you can tweak somethings and they still come out so great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Made this last night with just a couple of changes. Used pancetta instead of bacon and mild Italian sausage for the pork. Also fine chopped the carrots and celery. After cooking the pancetta I sauted the onion,garlic, celery, & carrots in pancetta grease then set it aside while I browned the burger and sausage in the same pan. Then mixed all together with the wet ingredients and spices. Let it simmer for 2 1/2 hours. Thought the oregano flavor was a little strong so added a bit more basil to counteract it. I also added a splash of EVOO during the simmer since I omitted it during the sauting. This is a fantastic bolognese! My husband is not a big tomato sauce fan, but he loved this. A must is to cook it for at least two hours to let all of the flavors blend together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This sauce got rave reviews in my house! I did a couple of small tweaks -- in that I took some advice from other reviewers and fried the bacon on it's own at first, then pan-fried the celery, onion, and carrot together in the bacon grease (so I omitted the olive oil completely). Then I followed the rest of the instructions, but added a splash of light cream after the sauce was finished simmering. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States