Bolognese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This sauce got rave reviews in my house! I did a couple of small tweaks -- in that I took some advice from other reviewers and fried the bacon on it's own at first, then pan-fried the celery, onion, and carrot together in the bacon grease (so I omitted the olive oil completely). Then I followed the rest of the instructions, but added a splash of light cream after the sauce was finished simmering. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This was one of the best that I have tried. It was so good that I canned up 14 quarts of it for the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyside, New York, USA
Living In: Newport, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Thanks Kimbers for this base recipe. Although I found that the sauce (Italians call it gravy) was too thick. I made a number of changes to this recipe which required me to name the recipe as Bolognese Sauce II.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Very good recipe with only a few exceptions: 4 garlic cloves, 1/2 lb hot Ital sausage instead of ground pork, 6 oz can tomato paste instead of tomato sauce, 1 tsp each of basil & oregano, & 1/2 cup vodka instead of wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Stroud

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I, like most reviewers, had to adjust this recipe to make it tasty. I personally think there is a major technique fault in this recipe in that it doesn't call for the mushroom/carrots/celery to be sauteed yet a lot of people recognized that and did it anyway. This process develops the flavor of the vegetables--a must in just about any recipe (even vegetable soup). Also, the sauce/paste issue is a major fault. Tomato paste is a must. One last thing, never serve sauce on top of plain, white pasta. The pasta should be stirred into the sauce so it is coated. Save a little pasta water to help loosen it up if needed. My Italian grandmother taught me this. I think this pile of white pasta habit was developed from American restaurants trying to cut down on costs. It is not the Italian way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I agree with the reviews, particularly the suggestions to use fresh herbs, pancetta, extra garlic, liver, and sautéing the onions, garlic and carrots. One more addition; I believe that classic Bolognese has fresh mint. It sounds strange to the uninitiated but truly pumps the Quentin flavor. Great recipe and reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
what a tasty change! I did change this recipe up, so this review is more just for me: didn't add the oil, didn't have the ground pork, did pasta sauce instead of tomatoes and sauce, didn't have wine to add, didn't add the oregano- forgot! Was goooood, would make it my way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Instinctively I knew that I should cook the bacon before adding the onion, garlic, etc., but I thought I'd try it as directed. My instincts were right. It turned out OK anyway but the bacon never got brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
My husbad really liked this. I did use crushed tomatoes instead of plum because that's what i keep on hand. I also replaced the stock with milk and let that soak into just the meat because all the other recipes had milk and I like it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenbabby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Great sauce, but it could use extra tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States