Bolognese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Folsom, California, USA
Living In: Lathrop, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Wonderful recipe, third time making it and i still have yet to try it myself before its all gone. Family keeps eating it all on me. but like with most things i add a little something different. My family are all garlic lovers so i used about 3tbls of minced garlic and instead of the white wine i went with a merlot with a 12.5%alcohol. I just think red has more flavor. Other then those two things i pretty much followed the recipe...might have been a little heavy handed on the spices but 1/2tsp i couldn't taste at all. freezes very nicely for future dinners as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Absolutely wonderful !!!!!! Easy to make and taste's great. I made this in my crockpot becuse it was easier than leaving it on the stove for an hour and in the winter I enjoy smelling things cook in the crockpot for a few hours. Thank You for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy F.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This sauce was SO GOOD! Very flavorful and easy to make. I, like a few others, did saute my onions and garlic in the bacon fat and it did add to the full flavor of this recipe. Makes A LOT, so be ready to feed or freeze
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Wow was this delicious! Prepared as directed, although I left out the mushrooms (I'm allergic). Makes a lot - just the two of us, so will reheat for great leftovers this week. Wonder if the flavor deepens over time, like cacciatore or minestrone?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Youngreen Weihe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I made this for my family New Years Eve. It sounded so good with all the nice veggies and meats, it was tasteless and not enjoyed by all. Feel bad I made this for my crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I made this tonight and did not change a thing. I thought it was great. I cut the recipe in half (it's just me & my husband), and there's still plenty for another leftover dinner for us both. Surprisingly... my husband said he did NOT like the bacon!!! Whaaat??? I disagree and will make it again WITH the bacon. I used baby bow-tie pasta (Barilla Piccolini). Great recipe. Would have been better with some grated parmesan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norco, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Very yummy, but a bit runny. Will definitely keep this recipe to make again, but with a few adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikki_26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prospect, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I am giving this 4 stars because I felt that some things were very unnecessary, I think that the Carrots and Celery should be completely out of the ingredients, My husband is Italian and he was a bit confused about the veggies, it should be more of a meaty sauce and some what cheesy, But I did tweak some things instead of ground pork I put in Ground turkey to make it healthier and since I had already added veggies I also added baby broccoli to the mix, I also added bits of Gouda cheese then I let it simmer for an hour and it was GREAT! So Yummy! I love that you can tweak somethings and they still come out so great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Made this last night with just a couple of changes. Used pancetta instead of bacon and mild Italian sausage for the pork. Also fine chopped the carrots and celery. After cooking the pancetta I sauted the onion,garlic, celery, & carrots in pancetta grease then set it aside while I browned the burger and sausage in the same pan. Then mixed all together with the wet ingredients and spices. Let it simmer for 2 1/2 hours. Thought the oregano flavor was a little strong so added a bit more basil to counteract it. I also added a splash of EVOO during the simmer since I omitted it during the sauting. This is a fantastic bolognese! My husband is not a big tomato sauce fan, but he loved this. A must is to cook it for at least two hours to let all of the flavors blend together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States