Bolognese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Nice recipe! I made it per the recipe and it came out pretty well. I did substitute red wine for white because I only had red, and added some extra onions and celery because I had no carrots. If I make it again, I will add a wee bit of sugar, a pinch of cayenne, and an extra clove of garlic, but otherwise this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Thank you Kimber, for giving me the basics for the best meat sauce recipe I've prepared in 45 years of Italian cooking. Tweaking helps take an already really great recipe and fine tune it to your taste buds! Like many other reviewers, I pan fried bacon and set aside. Sauteed the mirepoix in bacon fat and olive oil until nearly roasted. Minced 4, (not 1) fresh garlic cloves and added to beef and italian sausage as it was cooking in the mirepoix. Definitely 6 oz. tomato paste; omit tomato sauce. Used cabernet sauvignon and tore 8-10 fresh basil leaves in large pieces. Added bacon last and simmered 2 hours. Sserved over al dente linguine fini. BON APPETIT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Love this recipe. I made only one change and that was adding 1/2 lb ground veal which means adding a bit more sauce. I have made this a couple times and it is really very good. As the recipe says fresh herbs are definitely better if you have them. I like to keep this on a very low heat for at least an hour or more. Thank you for this great addition to my weekend meal planning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lee fitzmaurice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oradell, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brookfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Hearty but healthy! I didn't have bacon, but used ham I chunked up and fried up to crisp. I also omitted the Italian sausage as I didn't have any and used ground beef rather than ground pork...again, because I had it! I added more spices...doubled the amounts suggested ...and thought the flavor was great! Served ours over spaghetti squash and topped with fresh Parmesan cheese. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
tastes good :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suraiya onnesha

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I sauteed 1/2 an onion which I later discarded with minced garlic and bacon strips. I left the bacon and fat in the pan. I added a can of plain tomato sauce, salt, more garlic and grated cheese. (add grated cheese to the sauce) I also put 4 baby carrots in the sauce, but later discarded them. I didn't add any more vegetables. I browned the hamburger meat, drained the grease and added meat to the sauce. It cooked on very low heat for 2 hours and tastes amazing. I scooped out the sauce and tossed with angel hair spaghetti. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Great idea to add prosciutto but... I thought I had done something wrong because it was so incredibly dry. I did double the tomatoes and added the rest of the tomato paste. I then added 1/3 can of Prego sauce to make it less dense. The flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
My husband and I loved this recipe. The only change I made was instead of plum tomatoes I used Victorias marinara sauce. Didnt have the plum tomatoes. Really good. We were looking at all restaurant and celebrity chef sites, but my husband found this one. Glad he did. :))))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSEPRICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tamaqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tuckerton, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
great one! definitley do bacon first to brown and deglaze the goodies with the wine! also, i blended mine up nice and smooth since my kid hates 'chunky' sauce and its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
We liked it, but it could use more herbs or something. This is one hearty sauce though. Enjoyed and will try to doctor up to our tastes. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States