Bolognese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
This was very rich and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOUTHERNCOOK2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
To make the bacon more palatable...take the bacon, onion, carrots, & garlic and olive oil and put them in a food processor and grind them up into a paste. Then carmelize this mixture. I also agree that it needs the tomato paste and a quart size can of tomato sauce. When I make this recipe, my family says that this is the best I have ever made...and I am Italian and have been making wonderful spaghetti sauce for years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
The only thing I did different was add 2 extra cloves of garlic and another small can of tomato sauce. I think this recipe needs some tomato paste, because it comes out a bit on the thin side, even after cooking for a long time. It has tons of meat and stuff, just the actual tomato sauce part is thin. This is the 2nd time I've made this (and the first time I made a note to add tomato sauce, hence the extra tomato sauce the second time around). I'll add some tomato paste next time and see if that thickens up the sauce enough. Overall pretty good though, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
The sauce just tasted meaty. There wasn't really any other flavor to it. The meat flavors were so overwhelming that I couldn't enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
This is a favorite! I added the celery with the onions/garlic/bacon (this took a long time to cook to crispy). We used only beef (no pork) and I added some half n' half to cut the acid right before serving. This is sooooo good, just my type of comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
Made it with my sister the day before yesterday for a company meal we had yesterday. It's very tasty and versatile. Add any vegetables and seasonings you want. We did use frozen vegetables and it already had plenty flavour; I can only imagine how tasty it would be with fresh ones... Yields exactly 9 twenty-something eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
My family loves this sauce & there's always left over to freeze for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BePark
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
Excellent! Wonderful flavors! I made a double batch and I'm glad I did; it will be well worth pulling from the freezer when needed. I did make a few changes that all worked tastily: Cooking the bacon first was a great idea; thanks APRILSNYDER. I used both white Spanish onion and red onion; sautéed until well caramelized. I substituted sweet Italian pork sausage for the ground pork; yum. I doubled the amount of celery and next time I'll also halve the carrots and chop them and the onions more finely. IMPORTANT NOTE: The recipe calls for a 6oz. can of tomato sauce - but tomato sauce comes in 8oz. cans, I believe the author meant tomato paste which is used to thicken sauces and comes on 6oz. cans. Fantastic - don't forget the fresh grated Parmesan and a sprig of fresh basil for garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
Yum!! I loved this and so did my family. Except of course my 4 yr old who will not touch anything red. I did make a few changes. I left out the bacon, used a can of diced tomatoes, and a whole 15 oz. can of tomato sauce. I used a little more wine too. This recipe was very delicious. I served it over rigatoni along with breadsticks. I think though if you want 9 servings, you should probably make 1 1/2 times or double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
I loved this recipe. It was very easy!!!!!!! Will make again tomorrow night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States