Bolognese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
Just thee right amount of seasonings--the whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
This is just your basic, everyday bolognese sauce. I only see one problem with this recipe... dried herbs. If you're going to use herbs, do it right and use fresh. They have about five times more flavor than their dried brethren and they don't stay in your spice rack for five-six years at a stretch. I would probably also triple the amount of garlic in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
I loved this and so did all that had it with me. I did double the sauce and I cut up the bacon with kitchen shears and cooked it alone set aside and cooked the rest as was printed. I used crushed tomato's and the one's I buy say in puree so I didn't have a problem with the sauce being to thin. I used small can of paste instead of sauce. I think everyone will like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
This was very rich and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOUTHERNCOOK2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
To make the bacon more palatable...take the bacon, onion, carrots, & garlic and olive oil and put them in a food processor and grind them up into a paste. Then carmelize this mixture. I also agree that it needs the tomato paste and a quart size can of tomato sauce. When I make this recipe, my family says that this is the best I have ever made...and I am Italian and have been making wonderful spaghetti sauce for years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
The only thing I did different was add 2 extra cloves of garlic and another small can of tomato sauce. I think this recipe needs some tomato paste, because it comes out a bit on the thin side, even after cooking for a long time. It has tons of meat and stuff, just the actual tomato sauce part is thin. This is the 2nd time I've made this (and the first time I made a note to add tomato sauce, hence the extra tomato sauce the second time around). I'll add some tomato paste next time and see if that thickens up the sauce enough. Overall pretty good though, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
The sauce just tasted meaty. There wasn't really any other flavor to it. The meat flavors were so overwhelming that I couldn't enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
This is a favorite! I added the celery with the onions/garlic/bacon (this took a long time to cook to crispy). We used only beef (no pork) and I added some half n' half to cut the acid right before serving. This is sooooo good, just my type of comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
Made it with my sister the day before yesterday for a company meal we had yesterday. It's very tasty and versatile. Add any vegetables and seasonings you want. We did use frozen vegetables and it already had plenty flavour; I can only imagine how tasty it would be with fresh ones... Yields exactly 9 twenty-something eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
My family loves this sauce & there's always left over to freeze for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BePark

Displaying results 121-130 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States