Bolognese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Made it, and I loved it, I used 500 grams of beef, 500 grams of porc, and 500 grams of lamb instead of just the beef, and no bacon or lard (too fatty for me)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Weird that I am giving this 5 stars - I don't know what I did wrong, but it came out awful! Not being one to throw out that much food, I added a can of Campbell's beef broth and a can of Campbell's french onion soup, added some penne pasta and turned it into soup. IT WAS SO GOOD! So the lesson learned is that if you have Campbell's coup in your cupboard, you are the MacGiver of cooking! I will try this recipe again, though for sauce and keep my fingers crossed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Brilliant! I've made this with both white wine and red wine, although the red seems to give it more of a zing. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Very good. Used roasted (cooked in 400 degree oven with salt and pepper until they popped and then cooled and lightly mashed) cherry tomatoes from my plant in the garden instead of the canned grape tomatoes recommended by the author. Otherwise followed the recipe exactly the first time I made it. It was so good even my kids raved. I have tried other substitutions/variations to cut the fat and cholesterol some, but I prefer the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: May 19, 2007
excellant - i doubled the herbs and added red chili flakes to taste as i like more spice - it is thick, meaty and very flavorful - freezes well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
This is a super great recipe! everyone that has tried it loves it. Bolognese is my husbands favorite and he is so happy to get it at home now instead of going to an expensive restaurant. I like to add Italian seasoning to the ground beef as I brown it. Very delicious and makes lots of left overs -even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Desert Hot Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
A++++, recipe Love IT...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
Made this for Christmas dinner for guests - it was amazing. Everyone raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CUCKOOBIRD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
Very nice. Followed instructions, except for using canned mushrooms instead of fresh, and replacing abt half the beef with left-over mince chicken from the freezer. Came out to be a rather meaty type of sauce that's low on gravy. Plenty left-over to freeze. The next day added extra garlic, celery, onion, potatoes, chicken stock & cream to turn it into a nice stew (^_^)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
This was pretty hearty. I liked it but my family just thought it was ok. I didn't have a can of plum tomatoes or tomato sauce but I did have a 29 oz can of tomato puree which worked great. Also didn't use bacon - didn't have any. I also used beef broth and red wine instead of white wine/chicken broth - thought those would go better with the beef/pork mixture. I liked that there were lots of veggies in it - didn't have to make a side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States