Bolognese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
My picky husband loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
This was wonderful! We were babysitting 3 little ones the night I made it - one of whom was 2 and WILL NOT eat sauce on her pasta. She decided she wanted to try it and loved it! You can't do much better than that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Oh yes...OH YES!!! Followed the suggestions of a couple of reviewers and sauteed bacon without the olive oil, removed it with a slotted spoon and set it aside til sauce was almost done. Used ground venison instead of beef and used venison Italian sausage instead of ground pork. Also followed another reviewer's observation about the tomato sauce should be tomato paste. Added a large zucchini cut into chunks with the other veggies. I'm sure the original recipe is fabulous as what I made was one of the best pasta sauces I've ever eaten. It made enough for 12 servings easily and I froze the extra sauce to thaw and use on a future hectic night. Kudos for a first class keeper recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
if I could it would have got 10 stars.  First time I do a recipe I like to do it as the chef says...that is the real recipe...and this is one I don't plan on making any changes to...perfect as is. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blind River, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
Really Good! I used fresh herbs and the flavor was just as wonderful. The next time I prepare this I'm going to fry the bacon and then add the onion and garlic. A sprinkle of fresh grated parmesan is the perfect finishing touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
This was a great sauce that my family loved! I used prosciutto due to less fat. I also sauteed all the vegetables than added them to the cooked meat & sauce. I didn't have plum tomatoes so I used stewed tomatoes w/ seasonings & tomato paste. Thank you for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
This is the best sauce I've ever made! I flavored the meats while I browned them with a little salt, pepper, onion powder, and garlic powder. I also added a tablespoon of sugar and a bay leaf. I thought there'd be a layer of grease on the top from the bacon grease but there wasn't. I fried the bacon and removed it before adding to the sauce as per another member's suggestion. Ab Fab, Darling! Bravo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gastlygoul

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Avoca, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
This is a very good recipe for bolognese sauce. Of course, as with most recipes, a little tweaking made it superb. I also fried the bacon first, then removed it from the pan and fried my onion, celery and shredded carrot in the bacon fat. When they were soft, I added the pork, beef and garlic. Then I followed it exactly as it was. I remember watching Emeril on the Food Network and he always fried his "mirepoix" (celery, onion and carrots) when he made his sauces and it really made the flavour much better. Very tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
591 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I ended up browning the meat and cooking the bacon and tossing everything in a slow cooker. I also used 1/3 C red wine vs white and tomato paste vs the sauce and skipped the celery for personal taste. Makes a hearty sauce for pasta, but will continue to look for something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suemck
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Thanks so much for this recipe, Kimber! This sauce is excellent and I only made minor changes. I cooked the bacon seperately as suggested by another reviewer so that it would crisp up nicely, added 6 oz. of tomato paste and I chopped the carrots intead of shredding them. My husband and I devoured our plates, and there is plenty left over. Very hearty and full of flavor. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States