Bolognese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I make this in the slow cooker - it's dead easy and makes an incredible meat sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
My family liked this sauce. We've been looking for a great Bolognese for a while. This was flavorful and complex; overall, a nice change from the marinara that we usually have. I'll probably use it as a weekend recipe, though, as it was too labor-intensive for weeknights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This was really good spaghetti sauce. I am unable to follow recipe directions without changing a few things, so this is what I did. I used 3 oz of pancetta in place of the bacon and I used 4 cloves of roughly chopped garlic. I sauteed the pancetta along with the olive oil until crispy and then I removed it from the pan. Then I added the onions, carrots, celery and garlic. Once soft, I added the mushrooms and about 5 minutes later, I added the meat. I cooked this until the meat was cooked through, then added the pancetta back to the pan. I added 400 ml of tomato sauce and a large can of San Marzano plum tomatoes along with the wine and broth. I cooked this for about an hour and a half and added about 1/3 cup of ketchup (you'd be surprised how many professional chef's rely on ketchup to make a classic bolognese taste 'complete'). The end result was really delicious spaghetti sauce that I won't hesitate to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Very easy to make, very tasty, hubby loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
This recipe was not only easy to follow but the outcome was stupendous. It was definitely a hit with the family. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
First I cooked the bacon in a large pot and set it aside to drain on paper towels. Then I cooked the carrots, celery, and onion in the hot bacon drippings and then added the ground pork, ground beef, and the mushrooms and browned them. I drained off as much fat as I could and returned the bacon to the pot and added the rest of the ingredients. I used homemade chicken stock. I did add 4 cloves of minced garlic with the mushrooms. This was good but if I make it again I will add some tomato paste on top of the sauce because it was a bit watery and fresh herbs instead of the dried. With these modifications I think it will be a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
family did not like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lees Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Awesome! I followed the recipe pretty closely, using one 6oz can of tomato paste and 15oz can of tomato sauce. Also used Pinot Grigio, which made the sauce very sweet - might try a red next time. My husband loved it 2 days in a row, and I even served leftovers to my parents, who raved as well. Excellent sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
Delicious recipe! I added some chopped broccoli and cauliflower and a little extra water to help cook the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
My picky husband loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States