Bolognese Sauce with Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I added a pound of ground pork, more than doubled the number of tomatoes, increased the tomato paste to a full (small size) can, omitted the butter entirely, and spiced it up a bit with more garlic and some oregano. I also added a can of tomato sauce because I didn't want it to be as dry as some of the other reviewers stated. Oh, and added about a glass of red wine I was drinking, just because! It was EXCELLENT. We put it over a whole box of pasta and the kids raved about it... Even the 5 year old who usually demands only butter and cheese on her pasta. It would have fed between 6-8 people. Our family of four ate till we were stuffed, and had enough for a bunch of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2001
It is really the most flavorful meat sauce I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
My husband loves this sauce! I added bob evans sausage and heavy whip cream to this pot of heaven and everyone was in paradise! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
I LOVED IT! OMGosh..so, so good! I DID add an extra tomato and cut BACK on the salt since the prosciutto is salty...I actually used about 1/4 teasp. of salt. Now...bad news..my husband did NOT like it...he prefers a WETTER sauce. This is not a coat your pasta with tomato sauce-sauce. To me it's more the consistancy of a sloppy joe...but...tossed in pasta it WILL coat the noodles with flavor. I am giving it 5 BIG stars for ME personally...I WILL make it again but make it more "saucy" for hubby. THANKS for such a GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOPIEKITTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
I had to double this recipe for a large family. I did add 2 extra tomatoes based on what others wrote. I didnt double the meat and kept everything else the same. This looks great and tastes fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyndhurst, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
My kids complain about everything, but they loved this! Through in some diced green peppers, used the whole can of tomato paste, one less tablespoon of butter and cooked for less time and it still came out amazing- did add a little water when needed, so the sauce wouldn't stick to the pan while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mzgombic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stanton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
Easy and tasty, will make again!! I used 3 tomatoes instead of two, otherwise followed exactly! The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Amazing and simple. Couldn't stop sampling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Really good and easy to make!!! I followed most of the recipe, except the time simmering I cut short. Next time I am going to add some Italian herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
A great uncomplicated recipe for complete beginners like me! I used canned chopped toms as I didn't have fresh, but other than that, perfick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamUK

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States