Bologna Salad Sandwich Spread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Pretty good. Reminds me of when I was a kid. I adored ham salad and sometimes my mother would make it out of bologna. I processed mine a little finer than what appears in the picture. I actually didn't mean to, I wanted it a little chunkier, but my food processor has a mind of its own and decided to pulverize it within a matter of seconds. So it's more like smooth spread than a chunky spread. But the taste is still delicious. Going to take a bologna salad sandwich with me to work tomorrow. Just be careful when reading the recipe. "Desired amount" of salad dressing and "desired amount" of pickle relish should probably be up there in the ingredient list because it appears a few peeps assumed you use a whole jar of dressing and whole cup of relish. This is not the case, as stated in the instructions. Unless, of course, you like it that way ;) I used light Miracle Whip and turkey bologna, as I watch fat and calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockbourne, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I was raised on bologna salad....we used a meat grinder to grind the bologna and also used dill pickles, put through the grinder as well. My mom didn't like mayo so she used Miracle Whip. I don't like Miracle Whip so I use Duke's Mayonnaise.....Never had it with eggs in it, though.......My number one comfort food!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I had a bunch of bologna to use up, so it was good for that. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by honeybee375

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: High Level, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I used a 12 oz package of bologna and changed the recipe accordingly. I added a little bit of onion too. Maybe a little too much relish. I'll add less next time. All in all not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Wow! I am so happy I found this recipe. I grew up with my grandma throwing bologna, onion and relish in a hand grinder and then mixing with mayo instead of dressing...cant wait to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I haven't tried making this because I have my own recipe, but I just thought i'd say that this has been a family favorite passed down for generations. The recipe that I have was passed down to my great great mother from her mother..so its old. We call ours Balogna Salad as well, but our recipe calls for a mixture of bologan and ham both. We use miracle whip, onions, and cheese in it as well. Its best to get your meats and cheese from the deli in chunks..it grinds better and gives it a better overall taste. The mixture of bologna and ham balance each other and the taste isn't to strong..if that makes sense. My family makes this for many Holidays and then of course for baby showers, birthday parties, and so on. Just wanted to add that this is an all time favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
My Mom made a version of this back in the 50's but she would use Vienna sausages instead of baloney. I made this for my kids and grandkids and will try it on my great grands when they get older.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deep Creek Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
This is a good recipe. But it need celery , onions,and black pepper added to the mix. On the sandwich it is good with some lettuce and a slice of cheese. This is how I have all ways made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I've been making this spread for 55 years now. And my Mom made it all her married years too. It was my Husbands favorite sandwich to take when we'd go fishing. I used Helmans Mayo and sweet pickle relish and just a dash of yellow mustard in mine....just as Mom did. Good eating!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I think Dutchgirl missed it. The recipe says "with desired amount of creamy salad dressing and desired amount of sweet pickle relish". It doesn't say add the whole jar! We prefer Miracle Whip dressing. This, too, is one of my favorites my mom made in the 50's, and my kids and grandkids love it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Chicken Salad Sandwich

See how to make a tasty chicken salad using leftover grilled chicken.

Grilled Veggie Sandwich and Potato Salad

This grilled sandwich is so hearty, you could almost call it "meaty."

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States