Bolivian Saltenas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I also used the dough disks from the store, big time saver. However I found the saltenas were dry as the doug absorbed the gravy, I found if I coated the inside with the egg wash it sealed the dough disk and made the saltena much jucier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I had never made anything like this before, but my son requested it. They were fantastic! The dough for the bread is delicious - a little bit of sweetness to it. The only changes I made were to use Grillers, a meatless substitute for the ground beef. The filling is so flavorful, we didn't miss the meat at all. I also added a little garlic, and my family doesn't like olives (although I love them), so I omitted them. To speed things up a bit, I used shredded frozen hash brown potatoes, and these worked great. Those two substitutions did make the cooking go more quickly. We served them with a fruity salsa, a nice compliment to the flavors. Don't skip the egg wash either; the little pockets have a lovely shine and texture that you wouldn't get otherwise. The recipe is a little time-consuming, but the family asked me to put this in the regular rotation. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
its great!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
So happy to find this recipe! I was an exchange student in Bolivia many years ago and I've been looking for a saltena recipe ever since I left LaPaz. Can't wait to try this out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pam7602

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
My father was born in Bolivia, and his family ran a salteneria in La Paz when he was a teenager. I wanted to make my own saltenas, so I was happy to find this recipe. I was disapointed about how dry they came out, even following the directions to the letter. I'm wondering if I should not have drained the "excess grease" as the recipe calls for, and maybe left it in so it would make a sauce of some kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lou

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Made these today for my husband, who worked in Bolivia years ago. Added 2 cloves of garlic and omitted the raisins. Next time will use stew meat diced finer. They were a hit..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I bought the dough discs ready from the market and it worked, though the saltenas were smaller. I used beef chunks -which I diced- instead of ground beef, and cilantro instead of parsley. These saltenas do not taste quite like the ones I used to have in the South of Peru -and of course, they taste differently in different places- but they turned out really good. I Will make this recipe often since it was easy to follow and not really hard to make. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
The flavor was excellent, but I found the dough incredibly hard to roll out. And the edges were just too hard to get sealed. I made about 10 the traditional way, and then got too tired of rolling the dough, so I made a "saltena pie" with the remaining ingredients (something like a chicken pot pie in design, but with saltena taste). Maybe it's not fair to give a recipe lower marks for this...but I was really hoping for an easier way to make saltenas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This was really good. My other half who is very picky and hates peas and meat pies loved this! He snuck a second one. :) The only change I made was substituting cayenne and chilli powder for the paprika. We were out so I did 1/2 t cayenne and 1/2 t chilli powder. I didn't use that to add to the egg wash just the filling. thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Great recipe. I made these yesterday, and they were a lot of work, but so worth it! Impressive!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States