Bolivian Saltenas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
need more spice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by briarhopper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kettering, Ohio, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Worth making: filling flavor is excellent, but the dough lacks the soft springiness of restaurant saltenas. True saltenas when eaten piping hot drip with sauce -- that's the need for the gelatin, to make filling the rolled dough easier with cooled, gelatinous sauced meat filling. I tried 14 oz jalapeno sauce, but still not as juicy as the real thing. Next time I will put egg in the dough. Still, these are very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loudwaters

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I also used the dough disks from the store, big time saver. However I found the saltenas were dry as the doug absorbed the gravy, I found if I coated the inside with the egg wash it sealed the dough disk and made the saltena much jucier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I had never made anything like this before, but my son requested it. They were fantastic! The dough for the bread is delicious - a little bit of sweetness to it. The only changes I made were to use Grillers, a meatless substitute for the ground beef. The filling is so flavorful, we didn't miss the meat at all. I also added a little garlic, and my family doesn't like olives (although I love them), so I omitted them. To speed things up a bit, I used shredded frozen hash brown potatoes, and these worked great. Those two substitutions did make the cooking go more quickly. We served them with a fruity salsa, a nice compliment to the flavors. Don't skip the egg wash either; the little pockets have a lovely shine and texture that you wouldn't get otherwise. The recipe is a little time-consuming, but the family asked me to put this in the regular rotation. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
its great!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
So happy to find this recipe! I was an exchange student in Bolivia many years ago and I've been looking for a saltena recipe ever since I left LaPaz. Can't wait to try this out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pam7602

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
My father was born in Bolivia, and his family ran a salteneria in La Paz when he was a teenager. I wanted to make my own saltenas, so I was happy to find this recipe. I was disapointed about how dry they came out, even following the directions to the letter. I'm wondering if I should not have drained the "excess grease" as the recipe calls for, and maybe left it in so it would make a sauce of some kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lou

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Made these today for my husband, who worked in Bolivia years ago. Added 2 cloves of garlic and omitted the raisins. Next time will use stew meat diced finer. They were a hit..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I bought the dough discs ready from the market and it worked, though the saltenas were smaller. I used beef chunks -which I diced- instead of ground beef, and cilantro instead of parsley. These saltenas do not taste quite like the ones I used to have in the South of Peru -and of course, they taste differently in different places- but they turned out really good. I Will make this recipe often since it was easy to follow and not really hard to make. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
The flavor was excellent, but I found the dough incredibly hard to roll out. And the edges were just too hard to get sealed. I made about 10 the traditional way, and then got too tired of rolling the dough, so I made a "saltena pie" with the remaining ingredients (something like a chicken pot pie in design, but with saltena taste). Maybe it's not fair to give a recipe lower marks for this...but I was really hoping for an easier way to make saltenas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States