Bold Vegan Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly, and it came out pretty good. I couldn't tell the difference between the soy crumbles and real meat. It was very very strange eating chili that had no tomato in it, and I had a hard time getting used to that, but with some cheese and sour cream on top of each bowl, this recipe is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Debi is vegan
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
This chili rocks! Not only is it easy but it's super cheap to make. I added a can of carrots to mine and omitted the molasses and instead added a Tbls of unsweetened cocoa powder. Man was it good! Loved loved loved it;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi is vegan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Benicia, California, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I tweaked the recipe cutting down the chili. It is the best chili I have ever made & I'm a meat eater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This was really great! My family and I enjoyed this immensely at dinner tonight (and I was the only vegetarian at he table). Even though it was so great, I'm only giving it four stars because I had to tweak it so much. However, I'd still say this was a great base vegetarian chili recipe. Here is what I changed: Added: 1 can diced tomatoes; 1 tsp. cumin; pinch red pepper flakes; 1 1/2 fresh parsley; 1 extra bay leaf; 1/2 tsp. more hot sauce; 1 Tbs. lime juice. Then, I did not add the extra 1 c. of water with the flour because the diced tomatoes already added extra liquid to the chili. Thanks for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by freedominwordz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Excellent starter for any chili. I did make a few changes. I used 3 cans of beans but used dark & light red kidney beans and black beans. Also added (1) 28 oz can of Muir Glenn fire roasted tomatoes instead of the water, veg bouillon, and flour. Brought it to my meat starving coworkers and none of them realized that there was no meat in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Enjoying food in LA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Healthy bold chili. VERY delicious! I had to tone down the heat by about half for my tastes, tho. I served it on rice, with sour cream and cilantro. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This recipe is simple and delicious! I substituted 3 heaping tablespoons of dark brown sugar for the molasses and was extremely happy with the results. Adding a little chopped pineapple to the serving bowl was also a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I love this, it's simple and yummy. I like to add a can of corn and a can of diced tomatoes to make more and give a few more flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
My sister bought me a slow cooker for Xmas as a way of supporting my new life as a vegetarian. This is the second dish I have made with it. EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I use veggie sausage crumbles and brown them first for a more meat like texture. Yummie! Even pleases MEAT EATERS such as myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sleepy808

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pablo, California, USA
Living In: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States