Bok Choy, Carrots and Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
This was an excellent quick & easy recipe! I didn't follow it exactly, but I almost never do. Firstly, I didn't measure anything. I approximated amounts and substituted ingredients based on what I had on hand. This recipe works GREAT for that! I used 1 large carrot, 3 bunches of baby bok choy, left out the green beans (didn't have any), and used 2 cloves of garlc and 1/4 onion in place of the shallots. I also used tamari instead of soy sauce. Otherwise, followed the order of cooking and used times as a guideline. If you've ever stir fried before, just follow your instincts. Had it over jasmine rice with chicken adobo (used a family recipe), and my fiance and I loved it! I will definitely use this recipe again! I think next time I might throw in a few other veggies, peanuts, and some tofu to make this a tasty vegetarian main dish. Great starting point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
This recipe was pretty good, but I agree with other reviewers that it could use more flavor. I doctored up my veggies with more soy sauce and a little terryaki sauce and some ginger and garlic and it was VERY tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
Everyone thought this recipe was very tasty. The combination of suculent bok choy and crisp green beans was delightful. The carrots were a nice touch. Needed a bit more oil then the recipe calls for, especially if you don't have access to a wok, and need to use a skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
Absolutely fabolous! Really low-cal, packed full of veggies and vitamins. Remember to use low sodium stock! Otherwise it'll be too salty. Oh and to add flavour, i added 1 crushed garlic clove at the beginning of the recipe. I think if your eating this by itself, as a stir fry it has too much liquid in it. But if you mix it with rice or noodles or something, they soak up the liquid so it isnt much of an issue. I served mine with some cooked white rice. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Booth

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Bath, Somerset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
This turned out ok but the recipe timings are really off. The carrots and green beans took a lot longer to soften than the recipe states, and there's no way that minced shallots should go in first. I also suggest using sesame oil instead of peanut oil for a bit more flavor. I served it with 'Chinese Roasted Chicken' from this site. Nice meal. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2001
This is really simple and tasty. I didn't have any shallots or green beans so I subsituted onions and sugar snap peas. I also added some bean sprouts. It turned out great. The kids thought it was ok, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amanda47
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Nice mix of veggies. I was looking for BokChoy recipe--so this one fit the bill. We had to add Chinese BBQ sauce to add a bit a flavor. Next time, I'll start with a clove or two of garlic and add the BBQ sauce while everything is still in the wok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda47

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bastrop, Texas, USA
Photo by Lovingmama
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Great healthy side. We used frozen beans and added garlic. My 2 year old would not eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovingmama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
With a few adjustments, not as bland as others have remarked. I sautéed garlic with the shallots, substituted snap peas for beans, used a little bit less than 1/3 c of tamari,and added about 1/4 tsp. of ground red pepper. Good over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
This recipe was fairly flavorless, though not inedible. We did change the vegetables (on a low carb diet) and added bean sprouts and bamboo shoots instead. I had a bad feeling already when I saw the only seasoning was soy sauce. We will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States