Bok Choy, Carrots and Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Lovingmama
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Great healthy side. We used frozen beans and added garlic. My 2 year old would not eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovingmama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I added some garlic in after the onions and some black pepper after the broth. Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I subbed sesame oil for the peanut oil and garlic for the shallot, just what I had on hand. It was a little bland - maybe a dash of red pepper flakes would have helped. Still it was colorful and everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
I added garlic and ginger. I also used a bit of fish sauce and one more tablespoon of soy sauce. It was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trularue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Easy and flavorful. I added extra ginger and served it with Chinese Pork Shoulder from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
This was an excellent quick & easy recipe! I didn't follow it exactly, but I almost never do. Firstly, I didn't measure anything. I approximated amounts and substituted ingredients based on what I had on hand. This recipe works GREAT for that! I used 1 large carrot, 3 bunches of baby bok choy, left out the green beans (didn't have any), and used 2 cloves of garlc and 1/4 onion in place of the shallots. I also used tamari instead of soy sauce. Otherwise, followed the order of cooking and used times as a guideline. If you've ever stir fried before, just follow your instincts. Had it over jasmine rice with chicken adobo (used a family recipe), and my fiance and I loved it! I will definitely use this recipe again! I think next time I might throw in a few other veggies, peanuts, and some tofu to make this a tasty vegetarian main dish. Great starting point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
Absolutely fabolous! Really low-cal, packed full of veggies and vitamins. Remember to use low sodium stock! Otherwise it'll be too salty. Oh and to add flavour, i added 1 crushed garlic clove at the beginning of the recipe. I think if your eating this by itself, as a stir fry it has too much liquid in it. But if you mix it with rice or noodles or something, they soak up the liquid so it isnt much of an issue. I served mine with some cooked white rice. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Booth

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Bath, Somerset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
This turned out ok but the recipe timings are really off. The carrots and green beans took a lot longer to soften than the recipe states, and there's no way that minced shallots should go in first. I also suggest using sesame oil instead of peanut oil for a bit more flavor. I served it with 'Chinese Roasted Chicken' from this site. Nice meal. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
Healthy, but slightly bland. For us, it made only barely 4 servings. I used frozen green beans and they worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
It was okay. In the future I think I'll just make my stir fry and add bok choy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sleepingKelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States