Bok Choy Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This was a wonderful soup! I used two heads of bok choy since they were small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This was a really tasty base! As the submitter states, it is nice to add a bit to it, extra chili paste some lime, etc. Nice with noodles also. I did need to cook mine a bit longer than stated to get my bok choy soft, so you may want to plan for that when making or chop your bok choy stems pretty thin (I used the leaves and the stems, the recipe may have intended only the leaves at that cooking time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Awesome! This broth is fantastic. I skipped the jalapeno peppers and only used half the rooster sauce. Served over a bowl of steaming rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
So simple and so delicious. Feels like a super healthy meal, too. But very fulfilling. Claire loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I added one tomato diced thin but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. My boyfriend ate so much he made himself practically ill. This recipe was easy and so tasty. It really had a nice, tangy, perfectly spicy taste. LOVED IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This came out great! Super easy too. This recipe satisfied my pho craving even though it's not your traditional beef noodle soup. I added soba noodles and upped the chicken broth because I like noodly/brothy soups. The lime is key (pardon the pun) - in addition to what the recipe called for, I served wedges with the soup so everyone could add more if they wanted. I did not include the chili-garlic sauce or the jalapeno to the pot since it would be too spicy for my 3 year old but adding it to my bowl separately after serving was still yummy! Will for sure make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Great recipe! I also added on the side fresh sourdough bread. I served mine on top of rice, which made the spiciness more mild. I'll try those noodles next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
We had to leave the jalapenos and Sriracha out of the recipe and add in our own bowls due to having young kids, but it was still very good. I made it with venison instead of beef, turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
We love this soup. The only thing I ever do different is to add rice noodles, just 'cause we love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I would make this again but I would first sear the stew meat to get a nice brown color then do the onions ect. We used 2 bullion cubes in warm water in stead of broth and we found that we didn't need to add any salt. We also didn't have jalapeno peppers so we used some red pepper flakes and that gave it a nice heat. I added some celery we had and that was real good. We stewed the bok choy a little longer to get it nice and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saritah Helms

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States