Bok Choy Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
So simple and so delicious. Feels like a super healthy meal, too. But very fulfilling. Claire loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I would make this again but I would first sear the stew meat to get a nice brown color then do the onions ect. We used 2 bullion cubes in warm water in stead of broth and we found that we didn't need to add any salt. We also didn't have jalapeno peppers so we used some red pepper flakes and that gave it a nice heat. I added some celery we had and that was real good. We stewed the bok choy a little longer to get it nice and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saritah Helms

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Not bad, but not special either. The broth tasted like beef and lime and was warm going down. The bok choy was good and crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LAURAMA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
YUM! A great, healthy way to use Bok Choy in a soup. Used all chicken broth (no water) added extra bok choy and only used 1 tablespoon of hot sauce. The lime is a must! I also added about 1 tablespoon of tomato paste (for color) and soba noodles. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Didn't quite get this one right. Need to keep practicing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goosemonkey
Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I added one tomato diced thin but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. My boyfriend ate so much he made himself practically ill. This recipe was easy and so tasty. It really had a nice, tangy, perfectly spicy taste. LOVED IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Very tasty! I did not use the chili-garlic sauce but did add the jalapeno pepper. Way to hot for my taste. Next time I will use a much milder pepper and maybe cut it in half. Other than that it was a hit. Oh, and I used left over tri-tip instead of the beef sirloin tips, super good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This was a really tasty base! As the submitter states, it is nice to add a bit to it, extra chili paste some lime, etc. Nice with noodles also. I did need to cook mine a bit longer than stated to get my bok choy soft, so you may want to plan for that when making or chop your bok choy stems pretty thin (I used the leaves and the stems, the recipe may have intended only the leaves at that cooking time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Awesome! This broth is fantastic. I skipped the jalapeno peppers and only used half the rooster sauce. Served over a bowl of steaming rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Very peppery!! (And I only used about 1/2 the amount black pepper called for and none of the chili-garlic sauce.) Other than that it was good over rice, a positive first experience cooking with Bok Choy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States