Bok Bok Popovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
I really love these and have made them for just about every get-together and people always ask me for the recipe. HOWEVER, with that said, my recipe has been a little bit “tweaked” if you will. First off, omit the sesame seeds and dried parsley. Instead of 1-8 oz pkg of cream cheese, put in half a container (small tub) of cream cheese w/ chives and chop ¼ of an onion finely. Season the chicken (you only need 2 breasts, not 6) with salt, pepper and garlic powder and cook it with the onions in a little of extra virgin olive oil. When it’s done (and cooled slightly), chop chicken into little pieces, or shred and add the chicken and onion mixture to the cream cheese and mix well. Then proceed with regular directions as far as stuffing and baking. One thing though, if you want bite sized appetizers, simply put a small amount in each triangle vs. combing two to make a square. Trust me, you and your guests will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
I used a 10oz can of chicken to make these really quickly, and that was a good amount of chicken. I also seasoned to taste, adding cilantro, garlic pepper, and Mrs Dash. I softened the cream cheese in the microwave to make it really creamy and easy to mix. I thought about adding some fresh chopped broccoli for crunch next time, but my husband said not to- he liked them just the way they were. Overall, this recipe was quick, easy, and very rich-- it's not one for someone who doesn't like cream cheese! HINT: leftovers heated in the microwave get a little soggy, so next time I'll reheat leftovers (if there are any!) in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2001
Absolutely delicious! My husband and children gobbled it right up. (not to mention, the kids loved the name lol...) I think next time I will add a bit of garlic salt. It was a very easy, quick delicious lunch for us today. Will definately make it again. Thanks Cheryl!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2001
These were pretty good. I used fat free cream chees which I DO NOT recommend. Next time I will use reduced fat or regular for a better flavor. Also, I grilled the chicken with garlic seasoning for a little kick before adding it to the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GUMBY1974

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petoskey, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
Great idea, modified it works wonderful. I used quite a bit less chicken (2 breast worked fine) and shredded it. Also I added green onions (3).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
Too much cream cheese and not enough flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
My family really liked these, and it's so easy to make. I'll definately make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2002
My husband really liked these, but I found them too "heavy" If I make these again I will cut the recipe in half and use smaller cream cheese balls in the crossant, making them more like an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2001
Good. NEEDS SALT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2002
Wonderful! We enjoyed these very, very much. Even good the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Baked Apricot Chicken

Quick and easy baked chicken recipe with only four ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States